Start With These Databases
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)Citations to articles, dissertations, etc. on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
Other Useful Databases
- American Periodicals Series Online
The full text of hundreds of American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1741 and 1900.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaAn index covering all aspects of culture, history, and life of Indigenous peoples in North America.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web)
Index to books and book chapters, articles, and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American Studies.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- Web of Science, with Conference Proceedings (ISI), 1965 - presentSearches citations to scholarly articles and papers on all topics from over 10,000 journals and 110,000 conference proceedings. It includes three parts: Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present). This database is particularly useful for citation searching.
Summon
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
Find Full Text Articles
To find full text journals, see:
Useful Print Indexes
Poole's Index to International Literature, 1802 - 1906
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .P7
Social Sciences & Humanities Index, 1965 - 1974
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49