Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Microform Collections That Might Be Useful
The microform collections listed below may contain primary resources that will be useful for researching some topics about early America:
American Culture Series (1493-1806)
Reproductions of books published in America from 1493 to 1806. These books are on many different topics. The BGSU Libraries own only Series I of the American Culture Series, which covers books published 1493-1806.
American women's diaries (New England)
Call Number: Main Microforms film HQ1412.A44 No. 1-21
Publication Date: 1983?
A microreproduction of diaries written by women in New England during the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. The women (and the years of their diaries) are Susan E.P.B. Forbes (1841-1908); Ruth Henshaw Bascom (1789-1846); Caroline Barrett White (1849-1915); Abigail Gardner Drew (1799-1817); Hannah Davis Gale (1837-1838); Luisa Adams Park (1800-1801); Sally Ripley (1799-1801 and 1805-1809); and Martha "Patty" Rogers (1785).
Annual Register of World Events; A Review of the Year, 1758-1889.
This yearbook covered events in Great Britain, Europe, and the United States. The microcard collection covers the years 1758 to 1889. The BGSU Libraries also own some paper copies of the Annual Register of World Events, mostly issues from 1914 to 1972. This publication is good for overviews of public affairs and news.
Calendar of State Papers, Domestic Series, of the Reigns of Edward VI, Mary, Elizabeth and James I, 1547-1625 (Great Britain)
An annotated list of State papers, 1547-1625. These papers deal with domestic affairs, mostly court cases on treason. Some of the abstracts are lengthy.
Papers of the Calvert family, the English family that founded the province of Maryland during the 16th and 17th centuries. The collection covers 1516-1805 and includes family papers; documents relating to the Avalon, Virginia, and Maryland colonies; land, financial and government records; papers dealing with the Maryland-Pennsylvania boundary dispute; correspondence; and miscellaneous documents.
Cobbett's Complete Collection of State Trials and Proceedings for High Treason and Other Crimes and Misdemeanors from the Earliest Period to the Present Time [England] 1163-1858
Most of the trials were for treason. It includes articles of accusation, impeachments, warrants for execution, and proceedings which sometimes include transcripts. This collection includes trials of many famous people, such as Sir Thomas More, Queen Anne Boleyn, and Thomas Wolsey. It also includes other kinds of proceedings such as the dissolution of King Henry VIII's marriage to Catherine of Aragon.
Draper Manuscript Collection
Works and papers collected by Lyman Draper on the history of the trans-Allegheny West. This area includes portions of the Carolinas, Virginia, Georgia, Alabama, the entire Ohio River Valley and the Mississippi Valley. Most materials cover the time period from the 1740's through the 1810's. There are nearly 500 volumes in this collection.
Materials represented in this collection include letters, legal documents, maps, journals and diaries, family and personal records, business records, land records, court martial lists, muster rolls, order books, interviews, transcribed newspaper and periodical articles, etc.
Early American History Research Reports [from the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Libraries] Segment I
Reproductions of reports from scholars and experts at the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Subjects include history, archaeology, art, decorative arts, furniture, architecture, trade & industry, religion, music, theater, agriculture, crafts, etc.
NOTE: The BGSU Libraries own only Segment I of this collection.
Early American Imprints, 1639-1800 (Evans)
Reproductions of books, pamphlets, almanacs, scores, and other materials published in the United States between 1639 and 1800. It does not include periodicals or newspapers. The collection is based on American Bibliography, by Charles Evans and Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography, by Roger P. Bristol.
Home Office Class HO 42: George III, Correspondence (1782-1802)
Documents and correspondence from the Home Office for 1782-1802. These materials cover the government's attempts to maintain peace at home. It includes information on political dissent, radicals, riots, labor unrest, and public attitudes to the war with Napoleon.
Journal of the House of Commons, 1547-1900 (Great Britain)
Proceedings of the British House of Commons that have been compiled from the minutes and working papers of the Clerks of the House for the period from 1547 through 1900. Includes copies of documents, such as bills with both pro and con arguments, resolutions adopted and petitions acted upon, and statements made by members of the House.
Parliamentary Debates 1066-1918 (Great Britain)
This reproduces two publications: The Parliamentary History of England from the Earliest Period 1066 to the Year 1803, by Williiam Cobbett and Thomas C. Hansard's Parliamentary Debates from the Year 1803 to the Present Time. Cobbett's series is a history of Parliament from 1066 to 1803, not a verbatim recording of Parliament. However, it contains excerpts of the debates and proceedings. Hansard's series is also not an official, verbatim report, but relies heavily on newspaper accounts.
Parliamentary Register, or History of the Proceedings and Debates of the House of Commons and Lords 1774-1796 (Great Britain)
A reproduction of the 45 volumes of proceedings and debates of the House of Commons and House of Lords of Great Britain. These were compiled by John Almon and John Debrett. This collection includes the debates and proceedings for the 14th - 17th Parliaments (1774-1796).
Pennsylvania Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery: Minutes and Manuscripts
This was the first society organized to promote the abolition of slavery in what became the United States. It was founded in 1775 under its president, Benjamin Franklin. This collection includes the Society's constitution, minutes from 1797 to 1868 and a collection of manuscripts.
Plantation Records from the Department of Archives
Records of Louisiana, Arkansas, and Mississippi plantations from the 18th to the early 20th centuries. These records include diaries, journals, correspondence, maps, invoices, cash books, and other materials about family history and plantation business. The fiche labeled "Slavery Collection" include information on slave auctions.
Publications of the Prince Society
Reproductions of books about the early history of the United States. Includes volumes about the discovery and exploration of the U.S., colonial history, government, etc. The publications were all published by the Prince Society, an organization dedicated to publishing rare books about the discovery, exploration, and founding of the United States. A complete list of titles may be found by doing a word search on "Prince Society" in the BGSU Libraries Catalog.
Ratified Indian Treaties, 1722-1869
Ratified Indian treaties, 1722-1869, with papers related to the treaties. These papers include Presidential proclamations, Senate resolutions, messages from the President to the U.S. Senate, messages to treaty commissioners, journals, and correspondence. Not all of these items will be present for every treaty.
Travels in the Old South I, II, III
Reproductions of 1,174 travel accounts, geographies, atlases, surveys, statistical accounts, and descriptions of the animals and plants of the old South. There are also a few travel accounts of countries such as Cuba, Canada, and Mexico and of other parts of the United States such as Ohio. The collection includes books about Native Americans, slavery, and biographies or memoirs of various men and women. These works were published between 1527 and 1860.