Start Here To Look for Articles on a Topic
- Academic Search Complete, 1887 - presentIndexes articles and other materials about a wide variety of topics, including political science.
- International Political Science Abstracts, 1951 - presentThis database indexes articles about political science worldwide.
- SummonThe Summon unified discovery service allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content including books, articles, videos, and more. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
A Few More Useful Databases
If none of the databases in this list look useful, try the Research Databases page for a list of about 250 databases we have available.
- America: History & Life, 1964 - presentIndex to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- CQ Researcher, 1991 - presentIn-depth, analytical reports on current issues in the news, particularly controversial social and legal issues involving health, education, criminal justice, international affairs, the environment and the economy.
- Electronic Journal CenterMore than 7,200 full-text scholarly jornals in all subject areas purchased by Ohio academic libraries.
- Historical Abstracts, 1955 - presentIndex to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- JSTOR, early 19th century - 3 or 4 years agoFull text scholarly journals covering all topics in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- MasterFILE Premier, 1975 - presentA good source of articles from popular magazines.
But, is it scholarly?
Journals and Magazines: This guide details the characteristics of each category.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory: Entries include information about whether the journal or magazine is a scholarly journal, consumer magazine, etc.
Paper journals: Frequently include instruction for authors in the front or back of the journal. Some instructions will use the phrase "peer reviewed." Others will say that manuscripts are sent for blind review, reviewed by a committee, or anonymously reviewed.
Research Databases: Some allow you to limit your search to scholarly journals.
Voting Queue in Ohio, 2008
Image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons and Dean Beeler.
News & Current Affairs
- ProQuest Global NewsstreamAn online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThe database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. This is a great option for full text of some web published Atlantic Articles
- C-SPAN Video Library, 1987 - presentThe Video Library includes every C-SPAN program aired since 1987 - over 160,000 hours of footage. Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full-text.
- Newspapers: Finding Current and Historical NewspapersA guide that provides information about how to access full text newspapers in research databases, on the Internet, or on microforms.
Using a Mobile Device To Search Databases?
If you like to use a smart phone, pda, or another handheld device to search for books and articles, the Mobile Platforms and Library Resources page will provide you with information about databases and other online resources that offer special mobile platforms for you to use.