Article Databases
There are many Research Databases available for your use. These are a few to get you started.
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- African Journal ArchiveOpen access, full text issues from the backfiles of over 200 scholarly journals published in Africa.
- Business Source CompleteInformation on all topics in business, including full-text, scholarly journal articles, company information, and industry reports.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
- International Political Science Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts for thousands of leading political science journals published around the world.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
- Project MUSE - Standard Collection
An interdisciplinary collection of hundreds of high quality, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. All titles in the Standard Collection are full text.
- World Bank Data Catalog
Over 40 databases that provide access to World Bank time and series data on a variety of related topics.
Chat With Us
Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Click here for more information on scholarly, popular and trade publications.