Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books about Zines
Scholars of popular culture and popular music have been writing about zines and zine culture steadily since the pre-Internet zine resurgence of the 1990s. Below are a few examples in the BGSU collection. To find more, search our catalog for Zines as a subject.
Don't discount zines as a source for writing about zines - some zines catalog and review the zine landscape in certain places and times, as well!
The Book of Zines: Readings from the Fringe by
Call Number: pop PS536.2 .B58 1997
This collection of pieces from zines includes essays on topics ranging from Fonzie to the Pillsbury Doughboy.
This book is available in the BGSU Pop Culture Library (Jerome Library, 4th floor).
The Factsheet Five Zine Reader by
Call Number: pop PS536.2 .F33 1997
This collection of 73 selections from a number of fanzine genres is edited by Factsheet Five's R. Seth Friedman.
This book is available in the BGSU Pop Culture Library (Jerome Library, 4th Floor).
Music Scenes: Local, Translocal, and Virtual by
Call Number: ML3470 .M895 2004
The function of fanzines in music scenes is one of many topics explored in this collection of essays. One essay (by James Hodgkinson) specifically addresses the role of fanzines in the post-rock scene.
Touch and Go: the hardcore punk fanzine 1979-1983 by
Call Number: ML3534 .V44 2010
Touch and Go Fanzine was the brainchild of Tesco Vee and Dave Stimson and was launched in Michigan in 1979. Major fans of the new punk happenings in the late 1970s, the pair set out to chronicle, lambast, ridicule and heap praise on all they loved and hated about music communities in the US and abroad. Touch and Go features the complete series 1979-1983: 22 issues of the most significant US hardcore punk zine in one volume.
Writing a Riot by
Call Number: PN4836 .B83 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-19
Riot grrrls, punk feminists best known for their girl power activism and message, used punk ideologies and the literacy practice of zine-ing to create radical feminist sites of resistance. In what ways did zines document feminism and activism of the 1990s? How did riot grrrls use punk ideologies to participate in DIY sites?
The Archival Turn in Feminism by
Call Number: HQ1121 .E33 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-26
Cultural studies scholar Kate Eichhorn examines institutions such as the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture at Duke University, The Riot Grrrl Collection at New York University, and the Barnard Zine Library. She also profiles the archivists who have assembled these significant feminist collections. Eichhorn shows why young feminist activists, cultural producers, and scholars embraced the archive, and how they used it to stage political alliances across eras and generations
Notable Journal Articles on Music Fanzines