Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Fanzines: Home

Overview

The Bill Schurk Sound Archives houses a substantial collection of fanzines - non-official, sometimes underground publications made by and for fans - related to popular music. While fan-created magazines have been around since at least the 1930s, music zines came out of the DIY ethos of the 1970s punk zine. Today, music zines cover many musical genres like punk rock, folk music, pop music, and extreme metal, as well as music in particular regions. Zines often contain record reviews, artist interviews, and live show reviews. Many zines document the habits of tech hobbyists or the activities of an underground music scene.

Because of the highly personal nature of zine writing, fanzines document the lives and opinions of music fans as well as the fan communities that they create. To scholars of popular music and culture, fanzines are a valuable resource to understand how people make use of popular music in their everyday lives.

The Bill Schurk Sound Archives fanzine collection also contains some other "grey" commercial material, like newsletters and free weekly magazines, since their content and publication structure is similar to fanzines.

How to Browse the ML/BSSA Fanzine Collection

MLBSSA is currently updating our records to include summaries for each zine, to give some indication of content.

You can browse all of the fanzines in the sound archives through this list in our catalog, where the zines appear in roughly alphabetical order. Additionally, you can search the catalog for keywords, titles or authors in combination with the word "zine" to bring up fanzines in the sound archives collection. They can also be searched with other subjects like science fiction periodicals, fantasy fiction periodicals, rock music periodicals, etc.

If you need assistance finding a particular type of content, please contact a librarian and we'd be happy to help! Contact us using the methods outlined in the "Need Help?" box on this page, or ask in person at the music information desk on the third floor of BGSU's Jerome Library.

Credit

This guide was created by Rebekah Burchfield, graduate of the Ph.D. program in American Culture Studies and former ML/BSSA graduate assistant. It has since been updated by library associate Trinidad Linares and other MLBSSA staff.

Contact your Music Archivist

Profile Photo
David Lewis
he/him/his
Contact:
Jerome Library, Room 315
419-372-9238
Website
Subjects: Music