Research Guides: Film & Media Studies Resources: Journals & Articles

Selected journals for film & media studies

Canadian Journal of Film Studies

Cineaction

Cineaste

Publishes articles on the history, theory and criticism of film and television. Full text of Canadian Journal of Film Studies is available in JSTOR (to one year ago) and current issues of Canadian Journal of Film Studies are full text in EBSCO. Also available in print.

Prints essays, fiction, poetry, and book reviews, with occasional special issues on topics of contemporary interest and importance. Full text of Cineaction is available in EBSCO. Also in print.

Provides short papers related to the interpretation of prose and poetry. Full text of Cineaste is available in JSTOR (to four years ago) and current issues of Cineaste are full text in EBSCO. Also available in print.

Feminist Media Studies

Film & History

Film Comment

Provides an international forum for leading scholarship in feminist studies in media and communication. Full text of Feminist Media Studies is available online.

Provides a venue for cross-disciplinary research on film and television. Full text of Film & History is available online.

Offers film criticism, history, and writing about film as an art, a medium, and an element of modern life. Full text of Film Comment is available online. Also in print.

Film Criticism

Film Journal International

Film Quarterly

Includes writing by film historians, theorists, and critics representing many different disciplines, cultures, and critical perspectives. Full text of Film Criticism is available online. Also in print.

Reports on international and US news with features on current production and industry-related news. Full text of Film Journal International is available online. Also in print.

Contains articles and interviews focusing on experimental, documentary, and special-interest films. Full text of Film Quarterly is available in JSTOR (to four years ago) and current issues of Film Quarterly are available online.

Filmfare

Interview

Journal of Film & Video

The English-language magazine about Bollywood cinema. In print at Jerome Library.

Features the latest fashion, art and film news. Full text of Interview is available online. Also in print in the Popular Culture Library.

Features scholarly articles on film and television history, theory and production. Full text of Journal of Film & Video is available in JSTOR (to 2015) and current issues of Journal of Film & Video are available online.

Literature Film Quarterly

19th Century Theatre & Film

Quarterly Review of Film & Video

Focuses on the problems of adapting and transferring fiction and drama to film. Full text of Literature Film Quarterly is available online. Also in print.

Publishes research on all kinds of 19th century performance: theatre, early film, ‘pre-cinema’ optical and narrative forms, and illusions. Full text of 19th Century Theatre & Film is available online. Also in print.

Features critical, historical, and theoretical essays, book reviews, and interviews in the area of moving image studies including film, video, and digital imagery studies.Full text of Quarterly Review of Film & Video is available online.

Screen

Sight & Sound

Velvet Light Trap

Forum for the development of film and TV studies and cultural theory. Full text of Screen is available online.

Contains articles on contemporary and classic cinema from Hong Kong to Hollywood. Full text of Sight & Sound is available online. Also in print.

Features essays which explores alternative methodological approaches to the analysis of American film and television. Covers studies debate about critical theoretical and historical issues. Full text of Velvet Light Trap is available online.

Best databases for finding articles

Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective

Indexing for hundreds of international art publications, including peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, with full text provided for many.

Coverage: Indexing from 1929; abstracting from 1984; full text from 1997
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Books and articles covering research in television and film.

Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
JSTOR

Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
MLA International Bibliography

A detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
New York Times Historical

The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.

Other databases

Academic Search Complete

A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.

Coverage: 1887 to present; most full text is 1975 to present.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein.
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Indexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.

Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text

Index to articles, books, book chapters and dissertations on theatre, dance and performance from 1983 to the present. Some full text.

Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
Nexis Uni

The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.

1980s to present

The New Film Index: A Bibliography of Magazine Articles in English (1930-1971) by Richard Dyer MacCann; Ted Perry
Call Number: Z5784.M9M29 1975

ISBN: 0525165541

Publication Date: 1975-01-01

E-Journals

Browse by title

A · B · C · D · E · F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V · W · X · Y · Z · Numbers

Browse by subject