Searching for Books
You can find books in Summon by typing in a title, author, or topic, then using the limiters next to your search results to narrow your results to just books. The video below shows great tips for using Summon.
The BGSU Library Catalog can also be used to find books. This is sometimes a better way to search for books by topic, because
- Summon searches for books AND articles at the same time (though you can limit a Summon search to books)
- the catalog takes advantage of subject headings
- the catalog searches the tables of contents of most of our books. These are not necessarily listed in Summon.
Film reference books
Just a few to try. Search for "film" and "encyclopedias" or "film" in main reference for more options.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by Call Number: REF E169.1 .S764 2013ISBN: 9781558628472Publication Date: 2013
The Film Encyclopedia by Call Number: popref PN1993.45 .K34 2012ISBN: 9780062026156Publication Date: 2012
The Animated Film Encyclopedia by Call Number: popref NC1766.U5 W42 2011ISBN: 9780786449859Publication Date: 2011
Schirmer Encyclopedia of FilmCall Number: REF PN1993.45 .S35 2007ISBN: 0028657918Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Film Noir by Call Number: PN1995.9.F54 M39 2007ISBN: 9780313333064Publication Date: 2007
Basics for film & media studies
The Routledge Companion to Film History by Call Number: PN1994 .R5735 2011ISBN: 9780415776561Publication Date: 2010
Media Studies: the Basics by Call Number: P91.25 .M3645 2012ISBN: 9780415681261Publication Date: 2012
Other library catalogs
Use OhioLINK to search for books at other Ohio libraries, or find books in libraries all over the world with WorldCat.
- OhioLINK CatalogSearch for materials owned by dozens of academic (and some large public) libraries in Ohio. Request online; delivery to Jerome Main Circulation desk in 3-5 business days.
- WorldCatSearch for materials owned by of tens of thousands of academic, public, and special libraries internationally. Perfect for exhibition catalogs not held by many libraries. Use the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) link to request things not available from OhioLINK; allow up to 2 weeks for delivery.
Finding Scripts in the BPCL
Try the above search to find scripts in the Pop Culture Library.
All scripts in the Browne Popular Culture Library cannot be checked out, but...they are always here when you need them!
Biographical information
Biography Reference Bank is an EBSCO database that pulls together profiles and interviews from magazines and newspapers alongside substantial full-text biographies from the reference work Current Biography. Just search by name or keyword!
Media Studies Reference Books
- Entertainment awards : a music, cinema, theatre and broadcasting guide, 1928 through 2003Call Number: PN2270.A93 F68 2005
- Entertainment law : cases and materials on film, television, and musicCall Number: REF KF4290.A7 B88 2004
- The encyclopedia of 20th-century American televisionCall Number: REF PN1992.18 .L33 2003Also in Pop Culture Reference
Popular books
A Short Guide to Writing about Film by Call Number: PN1995 .C66 2010ISBN: 9780205668946Publication Date: 2009
Pimps, Wimps, Studs, Thugs and Gentlemen by Call Number: PN1995.9.M34 P56 2009ISBN: 9780786443055Publication Date: 2009-07-14
Film As Social Practice by Call Number: PN1995.9.S6 T87 2006ISBN: 0415375134Publication Date: 2006-08-30
