Search Tip
Often, a successful search strategy uses both keyword searching and subject searching:
-
Do a keyword search to find materials on your topic.
-
Examine the list of materials to locate one whose content seems to match your topic.
-
Once you have this one item on the computer screen, look at the subject/descriptor field to determine which subject/descriptor heading best matches your topic.
-
Do a new search for material on your topic. This time, try a subject search for the subject/descriptor heading that looked promising.
Read Word and Subject Searching to learn more about the different search strategies.
Searching for Books
To find books, you can search the three main catalogs:
- BGSU Libraries CatalogSearch for books, videos, music scores, CDs, journals & newspapers, and archival and special collections available at the BGSU Libraries.
- OhioLINK Library Catalog
Search for books, periodicals, electronic resources and other items in the 100+ OhioLINK member libraries.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
WorldCat contains catalog records, locations, and library borrowing information for books, journals, videos, sound recordings, archival materials and more owned by millions of libraries all over the world.
Some books to get you started:
Countries, Peoples and Cultures (Complete Nine Volume Set) by ISBN: 9781619258006Publication Date: 2015-12-23
Searching for E-Books
Search these ebook collections for possible sources, especially if you're away from campus! If you are using them off-campus, you may need to authenticate with your BGSU username and password.
- OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC)
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) contains full-text scholarly and reference books on numerous subjects, as well as full-text literary works in English. The Literature Collection contains thousands of full-text poems, plays, and prose works, including the complete works of William Shakespeare and William Butler Yeats.
- Ebook Central (ebrary)BGSU subscribes to two Ebook Central collections of electronic books - the Business & Economics and the Education collections - providing access to thousands of titles. Users can download chapters in pdf format or full books for a limited period in Adobe Digital Editions (see the library's ebooks LibGuide for more information).