Using Research Databases
The databases listed below are high-quality, subscription-only databases provided by University Libraries.
You may need to authenticate with your BGSU username and password if you are off-campus or using a laptop.
Hot Tip
Follow the "Find It!" link or button on an article in the research databases to locate online or print articles in other databases!
If an article isn't available full text in one database, it may be full text in another. Following Find It! will save you much time and frustration.
The Find It! button looks like this: 
Music & Art Databases
- Naxos Music Library
Audio for thousand of CDs from the genres of classical, jazz, world/folk, new age, pop and rock, and Chinese music. Access limited to 20 users at a time.
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online includes the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Art Online, The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, providing access to thousands of articles spanning ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Access limited to 3 users at a time. - Oxford Music Online
Provides access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music, with thousands of scholarly articles charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
Core Research Databases
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
- MLA International Bibliography
A detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Project MUSE - Standard Collection
An interdisciplinary collection of hundreds of high quality, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. All titles in the Standard Collection are full text.
Already have a journal title?
If you already have a journal citation from an existing bibliography or some other source, use this tool to see if you can find the article online or in print: