Start With These Databases
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)Index to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
- New York Times Historical
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Indexing, abstracts and full text of journal articles, books and dissertations covering sport, fitness and related disciplines.
Other Useful Databases
- American Antiquarian Society PeriodicalsFull-text collections of thousands of historical American periodicals, provided by the American Antiquarian Society and published between 1691 and 1912. The collection is fully searchable via a number of filters, and offers multiple navigation options.
- American Periodicals Series Online
The full text of hundreds of American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1741 and 1900.
- Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
- New York Times Historical
The entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
- ProQuest CongressionalProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive database that searches across current and historical documents of the United States Congress, many of which are included in full text. It includes the U.S. Serial Set (the published working papers of Congress), Congressional Hearings, the Congressional Record (through 1997) and hundreds of thousands of House and Senate reports, State of the Union messages, Congressional journals, hearings, high-resolution maps, and more.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Index to articles published in the popular press between 1890 and 1982 from hundreds of magazines like Collier's, Harper's, The New Republic, Popular Science, and The Saturday Evening Post.
- Women's Magazine Archive
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines.
A Few Useful Reference Books
Sports and Games of the Renaissance by Call Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor GV576 .L43 2004ISBN: 0313327726Publication Date: 2004
Sports in America from Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century: an Encyclopedia by ISBN: 9780765617064Publication Date: 2011-09-15
Encyclopedia of Sports in America by Call Number: GV583 .E64 2009ISBN: 9780313347900Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Newspapers
Since sporting events must occur in a particular place, newspapers can be an excellent source of the history of sports. To identify and access relevant newspapers, see the Newspaper LibGuide.
A Few Useful Internet Sites
- BBallsports.comHistorical baseball, basketball, football, and hockey statistics.