Research databases
-
SBRnet This link opens in a new window
Market research and industry news covering all aspects of the sports business industry.
-
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and full text of journal articles, books and dissertations covering sport, fitness and related disciplines.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
Scholarly vs Popular resources
-
Types of SourcesWeb page explanation of the different types of sources from the University of Wisconsin.
Scholarly vs Popular Sources Videos
Primary Source Examples
Secondary Source Examples
E-Books
These ebooks are all available to read online. Some allow chapter or whole book download and printing but each book is different.
-
Handbook of Statistical Methods and Analyses in Sports
by
This handbook will provide both overviews of statistical methods in sports and in-depth treatment of critical problems and challenges confronting statistical research in sports. The material in the handbook will be organized by major sport (baseball, football, hockey, basketball, and soccer) followed by a section on other sports and general statistical design and analysis issues that are common to all sports. This handbook has the potential to become the standard reference for obtaining the necessary background to conduct serious statistical analyses for sports applications and to appreciate scholarly work in this expanding area.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781351678964Publication Date: 2017-02-03 -
-
-
Sports Analytics in Practice with R
by
Sports Analytics in Practice with R A practical guide for those looking to employ the latest and leading analytical software in sport In the last twenty years, sports organizations have become a data-driven business. Before this, most decisions in sports were qualitatively driven by subject-matter experts. In the years since numerous teams found success with "Money Ball" analytical perspectives, the industry has sought to advance its analytical acumen to improve on- and off-field outcomes. The increasing demand for data to inform decisions for coaches, scouts, and players before and during sporting events has led to intriguing efforts to build upon this quantitative approach. As this methodology for assessing performance has matured and grown in importance, so too has the open-source R software emerged as one of the leading analytical software packages. In fact, R is a top 10 programming language that is useful in academia and industry for statistics, machine learning, and rapid prototyping. Sports Analytics in Practice with R neatly marries these two advances to teach basic analytics for sports-related use--from cricket to baseball, from basketball to tennis, from soccer to sports gambling, and more. Sports Analytics in Practice with R readers will also find: A broad perspective of sports, focusing on a wide range of sports rather than just one The first book of its kind that features coding examples Case study approach throughout the book Companion website including data sets to work through alongside the explanations Sports Analytics in Practice with R is a helpful tool for students and professionals in the sports management field, but also for sports enthusiasts who have a coding background.
ISBN: 9781119598084Publication Date: 2022-04-18 -
Sports Marketing
by
This book provides the basic knowledge ("basics") for professional sports marketing and gives suggestions for management practice. In the course of social and economic development, sports marketing has grown from rudimentary beginnings into a highly professional and complex discipline that not only affects those directly involved, but has also involved other interest groups (stakeholders) who often pursue their own and not always compatible intentions and interests. In addition, megatrends such as digitalisation and globalisation have given new impetus to sports marketing, just as sport itself has changed significantly in all its different manifestations and structures (including professionals and amateurs, sponsorship and organisation, self-determination and external determination). The authors present the basic building blocks in sports marketing in a compact manner and outline framework conditions, special features, strategy development and the use of marketing instruments. In this way, they create knowledge and understanding for successful sports marketing in the future. The content Sports marketing at the centre of different markets Basics of sports marketing Performance aspects in sports marketing Prices and contracts in sports marketing Communication issues in sports marketing Distribution channels in sports marketing Perspectives of sport - opportunities and risks in sports marketing
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9783658391218Publication Date: 2022-09-25 -
Sports Research with Analytical Solution Using SPSS
by
ISBN: 9781119206767Publication Date: 2016-04-22
