LibGuides: Occupational Therapy: Search for Evidence

Try these First

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This database provides a detailed index and full text of scholarly articles in nursing and allied health literature, including biomedicine and consumer health, scholarly journals, evidence-based practice guidelines, and other publications. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and continuing education modules.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
ERIC indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. It includes citations to research reports, journal articles, and books, many of which link to full text.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Index to scholarly journal articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
PsycINFO 1887-Current
The premier index to journal articles and other scholarly publications in the field of psychology.
PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Mobile access
PubMed Central
Full-text articles from hundreds of peer-reviewed biomedical and life sciences journals.
R2 Digital Library
A portal to full text ebooks in medicine, nursing and allied health from key health science publishers. Available titles include the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy. Please note: access to titles in this collection is limited to one user at a time. If the book you're trying to access is currently in use by another user, you'll see a note advising you to try later.

AOTA Evidence Based Practice and Knowledge Translation

DynaMed
DynaMed covers a number of subjects within health sciences, with content ranging from comprehensive reviews of diseases, conditions, and abnormal findings to highly focused topics on evaluation, differential diagnosis, and management. Drug and laboratory monographs developed and maintained by IBM Micromedex are also offered. The content is regularly updated as new information indicates a need for change in practice or improved understanding of the body of knowledge.

How to Read a Scholarly Article

This video is from Western Libraries at Western University.

Is It a Scholarly Journal?

Journals by Title: This search identifies scholarly journals and links to full text the library has available.

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory: Entries include information about whether the journal or magazine is a scholarly journal, consumer magazine, etc.

Research Databases: Some allow you to limit your search to scholarly journals.

Paper journals: Frequently include instruction for authors in the front or back of the journal. Some instructions will use the phrase "peer reviewed." Others will say that manuscripts are sent for blind review, reviewed by a committee, or anonymously reviewed.