Digitized Popular Culture Materials
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
A database of photographs, images, manuscripts, rare printed material documenting the music, politics, fashion and youth culture in America and Great Britain from 1950-1975.
- Digital GalleryDigital collections originating from materials housed in the BGSU University Libraries' archival collections and branch libraries.
- Vintage Paperbacks Index
Index to vintage paperback books and their cover art from the BGSU Popular Culture Library, with scanned images of each book cover.
Interdisciplinary Databases
Since researching popular culture topics is often an interdisciplinary process, there are a number of databases useful for researching across many topics.
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)Index to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses written from 1861 to the present for universities all over the world, with full text access to most.
- Ethnic Diversity SourceThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- MasterFILE Premier
Designed for public libraries, this database contains full text for popular magazines, reference works, and travel books.
Film & Television Databases
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Books and articles covering research in television and film.
- PASCAL and FRANCIS
This resource presents an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in exact, human and social sciences. It contains millions of multilingual, multidisciplinary citations and abstracts from scholarly journals in STEM subjects, the humanities, social sciences, and economics, and features multiple search modes, as well as the option to browse by keywords (vocabulary) or by thematics (classification).
- Google Scholar
A search engine that searches only for scholarly literature, including journal articles, books, preprints, etc., on publisher and academic websites.
- Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Index to articles, books, book chapters and dissertations on theatre, dance and performance from 1983 to the present. Some full text.
- MLA International Bibliography
A detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Search Summon
Databases for searching for a particular aspect of a topic
Gender
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Index to publications about women, sexuality, and gender from approximately 450 to 1600, covering Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East as well as areas in which Europeans travelled. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included.
- Gender Studies DatabaseIndex to articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and more dealing with topics in women's studies, men's studies and sexual diversity issues.
- LGBTQ+ Source
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on LGBTQ+ topics and issues.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Index to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.
- Women's Studies International
Index to journal articles, books and book chapters, proceedings, research reports, dissertations and more on topics in women's studies and feminist research.
Race/Ethnicity
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaAn index covering all aspects of culture, history, and life of Indigenous peoples in North America.
- Ethnic Diversity SourceThis full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web)
Index to books and book chapters, articles, and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American Studies.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Index to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.