Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Curriculum and Teaching Graduate Program: Finding Instruments

Test Instruments

Looking for valid and reliable surveys or instruments can be tricky. The following suggestions will help you get stared. Keep in mind, your search may lead you to a journal article in which the development of the instrument is described. If you are not able to find the complete instrument, you may need to reach out to the person who developed it. In some instances, instruments are available for purchase only. 

SUMMON

If you know the name of the instrument, start your search with SUMMON by entering the title of the instrument. Be sure to put quotation marks at the beginning and end of the title so the search engine knows to search for that exact phrase.

ERIC [Education database]

Keyword search for the topic (uncheck Search words in a thesaurus if necessary). From the results list, select All Limit Options. On the next screen, under Publication Type, scroll to and select Tests/Questionnaires.

ETS Test Collection

Index of published instruments, including non-commercially available tests.

Click the tab "Find a Test," search for a topic, click on a test this is of interest and look at the "Availability" field of the test. If one of the following statements is present, the instrument is available in our library (see a reference librarian for assistance, or Ask Us!):

  • Tests in Microfiche (BGSU owns 1975 to present)
  • ERIC Document # (available through ERIC database)
  • Citation to a journal article (check BGSU Libraries Catalog for journal availability)

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

The Mental Measurements Yearbook contains information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests back to 1978. It is cross-searchable with Tests in Print, which contains information about all currently in-print and commercially available tests, including what they measure, where to find them, and reviews.

Searchable together, Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print allows users to identify tests and view their availability or order information at the same time.

PsycINFO [Psychology database]

Keyword search for a topic and click Show Limit Options, select Tests and Measures.

OR: Keyword search for a topic, then review results to see if they provide details about the instrument used to conduct the study.