Research Guides: Business Data, Statistics, and Reports: U.S. Statistics

Comprehensive Statistics & Reports

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Economic data from U.S. Department of Commerce, including current stats & historical trends. Source of Gross Domestic Products (GDP) numbers.
Congressional Budget Office
Budget and economic projections and historical data for the United States.
Data USA
Data USA combines U.S. government data from various sources into one open access platform. Includes job, industry, and product data.
Economic Census
The Economic Census is the official five-year measure of businesses in the United States providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels. It serves as the benchmark for current economic activity, such as the Gross Domestic Product and Producer Price Index.
Federal Reserve Board Data
Current and historical data, including interest rates, commercial bank, household finance, and exchange rates.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Current and historic macroeconomic data and interest rates.
Index of Economic Activity
The U.S. Census Bureau Index of Economic Activity (IDEA) is a weighted combination of 15 of the Census Bureau’s primary economic data series, constructing a single time series that reflects their overall movement.
Stats America
StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) in the Indiana University Kelley School of Business. It maintains tens of thousands of data items from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data.

Labor & Occupation Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics releases monthly data on job growth, inflation, wage earnings, and other relevant labor information. Specific datasets of note are listed below.
BLS Statistics on Unemployment
Links to reports and data on unemployment in the United States.
Current Employment Statistics
The Current Employment Statistics (CES) program produces detailed industry estimates of nonfarm employment, hours, and earnings of workers on payrolls.
Employment Cost Index
The Employment Cost Index (ECI) measures the change in the hourly labor cost to employers over time. The ECI uses a fixed “basket” of labor to produce a pure cost change, free from the effects of workers moving between occupations and industries and includes both the cost of wages and salaries and the cost of benefits.
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics
The Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) program produces employment and wage estimates annually for approximately 830 occupations. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual states, and for metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information for more than 300 occupational profiles covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the U.S. economy.
Annual Business Survey (ABS) Program
The Annual Business Survey (ABS) provides information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by sex, ethnicity, race, and veteran status. Further, the survey measures research and development (for microbusinesses), new business topics such as innovation and technology, as well as other business characteristics.

Consumer Statistics & Market Reports

Consumer Expenditure Surveys
The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, LABSTAT database, news releases, reports, and public use microdata files.
Consumer Price Index
The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.
Monthly Retail Trade Report (U.S. Census Bureau)
The Advance Monthly and Monthly Retail Trade Surveys (MARTS and MRTS), the Annual Retail Trade Survey (ARTS), and the Quarterly E-Commerce Report work together to produce the most comprehensive data available on retail economic activity in the United States.
Producer Price Index
The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output. The prices included in the PPI are from the first commercial transaction for many products and some services.
Survey of Consumers (University of Michigan)
Tables, charts, and reports produced by The University of Michigan on consumer sentiment, consumer expectations, and inflation.
US Consumer Confidence
The Consumer Confidence Survey® reflects prevailing business conditions and likely developments for the months ahead. This monthly report details consumer attitudes, buying intentions, vacation plans, and consumer expectations for inflation, stock prices, and interest rates. Data are available by age, income, 9 regions, and top 8 states.

Trade Data

BEA International Trade and Investment Country Facts
Latest data on U.S. trade and investment by country.
Census Bureau: International Trade
International Trade is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States.
DataWeb: U.S. Trade & Tariff Data
The USITC DataWeb provides public access to the official U.S. import and export statistics of the U.S. Department of Commerce in a user-friendly web interface. Using the DataWeb querying tool, users can build custom queries and access these data in a spreadsheet or a web-based format.
Import/Export Price Indexes
The International Price Program (IPP) produces Import/Export Price Indexes (MXP) containing data on changes in the prices of nonmilitary goods and services traded between the U.S. and the rest of the world. Produced by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Regional Statistics

DataOhio
A portal to datasets produced by Ohio government agencies on public health, education, children and youth, the environment, and more, updated regularly by the respective agencies.

County Business Patterns (U.S. Census Bureau)
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for establishments with paid employees by industry and employment size.
State and Metro Area Employment, Hours, & Earnings
CES State and Metro Area produces data for all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and about 430 metropolitan areas and divisions.

Maps & Demographics

data.census.gov

This resource replaces the now defunct American FactFinder. This is the U.S. Census Bureau's main vehicle for distributing U.S. census data, including economic censuses and surveys and annual population estimates. Population, housing, economic and geographic data can be found here.
PolicyMap (public version)

We do not subscribe to this resource but you can select “Enter without logging in” to use the free version.
PolicyMap is an online US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform for demographic and socioeconomic analysis. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites. BGSU has access to the limited, free version of the software.

Coverage: 2000 to current
Social Explorer

Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to modern and historical socioeconomic and demographic data, bringing together quantitative data with a visual interface to make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive.