Research Guides: MDIA 4610/MC 5610: Audience Research and Targeting: Media and Communication Journals/Databases

Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Indexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.

Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Books and articles covering research in television and film.

Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
Business Source Complete

Information on all topics in business, including full-text, scholarly journal articles, company information, and industry reports.

Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein

Selected Journals

The following are the communication and media journals that are most likely to publish scholarship on audience research.

Special Issue on Audience Research

Occasionally journals publish special issues on a topic within the field. Television & New Media devoted a special issue to audience research in 2019.

"This special issue, quite fittingly for this journal, brings together a series of articles, which are written by a set of communication scholars who frequently delve into the messy world that is empirical audience research, but who reflect, here, on the very state and status of the field as it navigates a moment in communication studies scholarship where datafication challenges, perplexes, frustrates, enthuses, and, increasingly, engages in some way or another most communication scholars one meets."

Special Issue A Field in Flux: The Intriguing Past and the Promising Future of Audience Analysis

Selected Books

The Audience and Business of Youtube and Online Videos by Louisa Ha (Editor)
Call Number: TK5105.8868.Y68 A93 2018 (Main Library, 8th Floor)

ISBN: 9781498576482

Publication Date: 2018-06-06
The Future of Audiences by Ranjana Das (Editor); Brita Ytre-Arne (Editor)
Call Number: Online Resource

ISBN: 9783319756370

Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Researching Audiences by Kim Schroder; Kristen Drotner; Stephen Kline; Catherine Murray
Call Number: P96.A83 R47 2003 (Main Library, 1st Floor)

ISBN: 0340762756

Publication Date: 2003-08-28
The Social Use of Media by Helena Bilandzic (Editor); Geoffroy Patriarche (Editor); Paul J. Traudt (Editor)
Call Number: P96.A83 S63 2012 (Main Library, 1st Floor)

ISBN: 9781841505121

Publication Date: 2012-12-15
Understanding Audiences by Andy Ruddock
Call Number: P96.A83 R83 2001 (Main Library, 1st Floor) and Online

ISBN: 0761963448

Publication Date: 2001-03-08