LibGuides: JOUR 4950: Fact, Truth, and Trust: Journal Articles

Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ

What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?

Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:

generally focus on scholarly research
are written by experts in the field or discipline
are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
contain cited references to the information sources used

How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?

Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.

Broad Article Databases

EBSCO Databases
Access to all of the EBSCO databases which the library subscribes to, including our most heavily-used database, Academic Search Complete. Browse a list of all EBSCO databases or use the link above to search them all at the same time. You can also connect to EBSCO then click on "Choose Databases" to link to specific EBSCO databases.
Google Scholar
A search engine that searches only for scholarly literature, including journal articles, books, preprints, etc., on publisher and academic websites.

Individual Databases of Interest

America: History & Life (EBSCO)
Index to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Coverage: articles published 1964 to present
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
Gender Studies Database
Index to articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and more dealing with topics in women's studies, men's studies and sexual diversity issues.
LGBTQ+ Source
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on LGBTQ+ topics and issues.