LibGuides: Evidence-Based Medicine: Home

Evidence-Based Medicine

What is EBM?

Evidence-based medicine (EBM) is the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values.

Best research evidence
Clinical expertise
Patient values

When these three elements are integrated, clinicians and patients form a diagnostic and therapeutic alliance which optimizes clinical outcomes and quality of life.

From: The Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM)

Related Medical Subject Guides

Evidence-Based Medicine Current Issue

Formulating Clinical Questions

Databases for Evidence Based Medicine

ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Cochrane Library
Consists of six parts: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Nutrition Evidence Library
USDA Nutrition Evidence Library is a systematic review entity inside the agency.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Use the clinical study categories for therapy, etiology, diagnosis, prognosis, or clinical prediction guides
TRIP Database
A clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice

Evidence-Based Medicine: Home

Evidence-Based Medicine

Related Medical Subject Guides

Evidence-Based Medicine Current Issue

Formulating Clinical Questions

Databases for Evidence Based Medicine

Citation