Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Troubleshooting: Troubleshooting EZProxy & Access Problems

Can't log in? Can't access full text? Here are tips for solving common problems using library resources.

Troubleshooting access problems

Confused Person

Can't log in? Can't access full text? Try the following:

  1. Try a different browser
  2. Check your login
  3. Use the alternate access link
  4. Make sure you're using a proxied link
  5. Make sure you're using a persistent link
  6. Log in through OhioLINK

If you are having problems accessing library resources, contact the Research & Information Desk.

You can also report problems via email to eresources (at) lists.bgsu.edu. 

Proxy a link for off campus use

For a link to work from off campus, it has to be proxied. Proxied links contain "ezproxy" and will prompt you to log in.

To proxy any link, add this to the beginning of a url:
http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu:8080/login?url=http://

Unproxied link to JSTOR:
http://www.jstor.org/stable/40651623
(will not work from off campus)

Proxied link to JSTOR:
http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu:8080/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/40651623
(will work off campus)

Switch proxies

You can “re-proxy” any EZProxy link to use our other proxy server.

  1. Remove the EZProxy prepend, in red in the following url: 
    http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu:8080/
    login?url=
    http://www.jstor.org/stable/
    40651623
  2. Add a “0-“ (zero dash) and “.maurice.bgsu.edu” (dot maurice dot bgsu dot edu) to the remaining url (in red on the following):
    http://0-www.jstor.org.maurice.bgsu.edu/
    stable/40661623

Key Contacts

Amy Fry (e-resources librarian)
afry (at) bgsu.edu or eresources (at) lists.bgsu.edu
419-372-2690

Sonia Duran (serials staff)
eresources (at) lists.bgsu.edu

Linda Rich (reference coordinator)
lrich (at) bgsu.edu

Mark Strang (library IT manager)
mstrang (at) bgsu.edu

First, try a different browser

It's always a good idea to have more than one browser on your computer, because different resources work differently in different browsers, and login errors can get saved in your cache even if they are just temporary. Many login errors are resolved by trying a different browser. If you can't use a different browser, try clearing your cache and search history. Please also keep in mind that the library does not recommend Internet Explorer or Edge for library research, because these Microsoft browsers cause the most problems with our resources.

Make sure you're using a persistent link

Sometimes the link to a resource you are trying to use is a session url and not a persistent url. 

This most often happens with EBSCO, because the url in the browser bar is not a url you can save in order to return to an item later. Instead, you have to find the special "permalink" for the EBSCO webpage or resource. 

Screenshot of EBSCO showing where to find permalink

If you are trying to go to a session url in EBSCO, you will probably just see a page that looks like this:

Screenshot of EBSCO webpage listing interfaces

If you cannot connect to a resource because you do not have a persistent link, usually the only thing you can do is try to find the item again in the database through a keyword search. 

When using databases, look for the "permalink" or "persistent link" label to make sure you can get to something later. This guide will show you how!

Check your login

If you are off campus, you should be prompted to log in to EZProxy before you can access an article or ebook. Make sure you are entering your username and password correctly.

   EZProxy login screen

What happens when you enter your login incorrectly

If you get an error message:

  • make sure your username and password are working by trying to log in to MyBGSU. If not, you can change your password there or contact Campus ITS for more assistance.
  • make sure there is not a problem with your library account. Log in to MyBGSU and go to "Students" --> "Libraries," then scroll down to "Library Account At A Glance" and check your account expiration date. If your account has expired but you are still pursuing your degree at BGSU, contact the Circulation Desk at 419.372.2051 or email them at circdesk@bgsu.edu.

Use the alternate access link

Most of our resources have an alternate access link. If you cannot log in to EZProxy, you can usually log in using the alternate access link. Try one of the popular databases listed below, or use our All Databases list to find a specific resource.

Here are the alternate access links for popular resources:

If you are able to log in using an alternate access link but are unable to log in to EZProxy, a firewall in your network may be blocking EZProxy. This most frequently happens in:

  • K-12 schools
  • government buildings and offices
  • hospitals

Please contact us at eresources (at) lists.bgsu.edu for more assistance.

To find the Alternate Access Link for any database, go to our All Databases list (on our homepage under the search box).

Screenshot of home page with arrow pointing to All Databases link

Find the database you want in the list and click the "more" link underneath the description to show the Alternate Access Link. 

Screenshot of popular databases showing alternate access link

Sometimes, a link on our website may take you to the description of a database. You can also find the Alternate Access Link on these pages, under the database description.

Screenshot of database record showing Alternate Access Link

Make sure you're using a proxied link

If you are off campus, you need to be using a proxied link. If you saved a link when you were on campus and then tried to access it from off campus, the link you saved might be unproxied. You can tell by looking at the url in the browser bar.

Example of proxied link in JSTOR

Most proxied links have the word "ezproxy" in them, like the one above.

Example of alternate access proxied link in JSTOR

Some proxied links start with a "0-" and have "maurice" in them, like this one above.

Example of unproxied link in JSTOR

This link has neither ezproxy nor maurice in it, and it will not work from off campus.

If a link isn't proxied (i.e., just starts with http://search.ebscohost.com or http://www.jstor.org, etc.), it is easy to proxy the link yourself. Just add http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu:8080/login?url= at the beginning and leave the rest of the url the same.

Unproxied: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=fcs&AN=26471839&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Proxied: http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu:8080/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=fcs&AN=26471839&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Why might a link be unproxied? If you are using Google or are otherwise not starting from the library's home page, links to resources will not be proxied. If you emailed yourself a link to an article from on campus, the link in the email may not be proxied. Just proxy it yourself as described above for full text access!

Connect Through OhioLINK

See if you can connect via the OhioLINK databases list using the "off-campus URL" link next to the database name

This option is not available for every database.

Check user limits

Some databases require you to set up a special account to use the database or certain features. Others are limited to just a few or only one user at a time. Some of these resources include: ARTstor, Intelliconnect (CCH), SciFinder, and Naxos, among others. Use the All Databases list to check for special access notes about the resource you are trying to use.

Screenshot of All Databases list showing notes

Likewise, some of our ebooks are limited to just a few or only one user at a time. You will find notes about this in the catalog, next to the url for each book.

Screenshot of book showing use restriction note