Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Summon Help: Home

What is Summon?

Summon allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in a wide variety of formats (book, ebook, article, audio, video, image) and from a wide variety of sources (the classic catalog, peer-reviewed journals, EBSCO databases, and more). Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.

Summon searches get a lot of results!  Narrow them down with categories on the left like "full text online" or "journal article."  You can also easily include or exclude content types and limit by date of publication.  Click the folder icon to save a result, then easily format citations, email links to full text or export to RefWorks.  Article results may link to additional articles relevant to your topic and popular with other researchers.  You can also link to articles that cite a search result, or learn if a citation has been saved or shared on social media.

What's in Summon?

When you're searching Summon, you're searching approximately 80% of the library's collections - but not everything is included in Summon.

Summon includes Web of Science, BGSU Library Catalog, Springer, JSTOR, Project Gutenberg, and thousands more publishers, journals, newspaper, and magazines.  Summon does NOT include collections such as Cell Press, WorldCat, ACS Journals or the OhioLINK Catalog.

Summon is a great place to start your research, but you won't find everything available to you through the library's databases or interlibrary loan if you only use Summon. While you will find content from JSTOR and most of our EBSCO databases in Summon, advanced users will still want to search their favorite subject-specific databases to find additional articles, and OhioLINK and WorldCat to find additional books. If you have any questions about what you do or don't find in Summon, contact Amy Fry.

Acknowledgement

Creative Commons Licensed

The UL at BGSU remixed and adapted Summon Help  from University of Wollongong Library / CC BY-NC-SA 3.0.

Browsers

  

Want a better Summon experience? We recommend using Chrome, Firefox, or Safari as your browser - NOT IE or Edge.

Troubleshooting

Are you having problems linking to full text?

Take a look at our Troubleshooting LibGuide for help with login and other problems.

Log In

Off campus or using wireless? Log in first for seamless access to online resources.