BGSU
Home Academics Admissions The Arts Athletics Libraries Offices
Admin Sign In 

Film Music and Soundtrack Resources  Tags: film_music music film_analysis_ critical_studies  

Research guide to finding library and internet sources on film music studies
Last update: Aug 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/film_music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started            Print Page
  
 

Searching the Catalog

Browsing Areas

The following are selected call number ranges where film music materials may be found. For more specific call numbers, consult Mirlyn.

M 1527.2 film music scores
ML 102 .M75 dictionaries of film music
ML 410 .A-.Z biographies of individual composers
ML 2075 film music history & criticism
MT 64 .M65 film music instruction & study
MT 737 film music instruction & study
mulPN 1995.9 .M86 musical films
 

Subject Headings

The following are a few examples of subject headings related to film music which you may find useful when searching or browsing in Mirlyn. For a complete list, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings located on top of the New Book Shelf.

  • motion picture music
  • motion picture music--bibliography
  • motion picture music--excerpts
  • motion picture music--history and criticism
  • motion pictures and music
  • musical films
  • musical films--history and criticism
  • musical films--united states--history and criticism
  • silent film music
 

Internet Resources


IMDB (Internet Movie Database)

SoundtrackNet: The Art of Film and Television Music
Provides news features, an extensive listing of film composers (including up-to-date filmographies), reviews of soundtracks, and information regarding the availability of soundtrack recordings.

Film Score Monthly: The Online Magazine of Motion Picture and Television Music Appreciation
Contains articles, answers to frequently-asked questions, and links to many other film and film music sites.

Soundtrack Collector
Provides industry news, links to other film music sites, and a soundtrack database that can be browsed by title or composer.

Music from the Movies
Provides news, reviews, composer information, and links to related sites.

FilmTracks: Modern Soundtrack Reviews
Provides reviews of contemporary film soundtracks.

Silent Film Resources FAQ
Provides links to silent film resources on the internet.

FILMUS-L
An online discussion list devoted to film and television music. A searchable archive of the list is also available.

 
 

Get Help!

If you need personal help, please call (419-372-2307), e-mail (mlsra@bgsu.edu), or chat (AIM:ssnnh or use the chat box below).

 

The Music Library and Sound Recordings Archives are located on the third floor of Jerome Library. Check our hours on the University Libraries' site.

 

Credits

This guide was created by Morgan Rich, former Music Library Student and Circulation Supervisor.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait