Archival Collections at MLBSSA
Our archival collections also have some materials that relate to movie and television soundtracks. Some of them are described using finding aids, which describe the contents of a collection, much like the table of contents for a book. For help navigating a finding aid, see the annotated finding aid created by the Society for American Archivists.
Popular Music Artist Marketing Materials
The Popular Music Artist Marketing Materials Collection contains promotional and marketing files, mostly for popular and rock music artists and bands. Fewer folders relate to music venues, movie and television soundtracks, and musical genres.
Music Promotional and Marketing Objects
The Music Promotional and Marketing Objects Collection contains various objects used as promotional and marketing material mostly for musical artists and bands, though it also contains some movie soundtrack promotional material.
Monkees Fan Scrapbook
The Monkees Fan Scrapbook contains magazine clippings related to the Monkees. Many clippings were taken from 16 Magazine.
Movie Promos
The archives has a collection of nearly 1,000 movie promo discs. These discs, meant for radio play, contain commercials and other promotional material for films; the genres and types of films represented vary widely, from well-known Westerns, horror films, dramas, and comedies to independent, low-budget, animated or made-for-TV films.
You can browse the titles in our catalog or search for individual film titles.
There are also nearly 100 12-inch movie promo discs within our Radio Advertisement, Announcement, and Commercial Jingle Collection (MUSIC-050), described in a finding aid.
Johnny Desmond Collection
The Johnny Desmond Collection contains promotional documents, sheet music, and television scripts written by or about singing and television star Johnny Desmond. This small collection focuses largely on Desmond's pivot away from recording to work in television in the late 1950s. Of particular note are the drawings, scripts, and other information about the TV series that Desmond created in the late 1950s.
Teen Fan Scrapbook
The Teen Fan Scrapbook contains magazine clippings about the following figures: The Cowsills, a family musical group; Mark Lindsay, musician and actor; Christopher Jones, actor; and Dark Shadows, a TV show that aired in the late 1960s.
