Vogue Archive
Search Vogue Archive!
A complete, searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Includes every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by designer and brand names.
Search by: Designer, Company & Brand Names, Product, Fabric, Fashion Items, & more!
Women's Wear Daily
Access Women's Wear Daily (WWD) for current fashion photos.
Fashion/Textile Web Sites
Browse individual store websites (Nordstrom, Nieman Marcus, Talbots, etc.) or official designer websites, such as karl.com or dolcegabbana.com.
Citing Images in APA
Finding Fashion Images and Articles in Databases
Images from Berg Fashion Library
- Vogue ArchiveA complete, searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Includes every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by designer and brand names.
- Berg Fashion Library in Bloomsbury Fashion CentralThis ten-volume Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion explores the dressed and adorned body across cultures and throughout history. This database also includes thousands of color images, ebooks, essays, ejournals and additional reference materials on fashion.
- Women's Magazine ArchiveSearch full backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines such as Good Housekeeping, Redbook, and Ladies' Home Journal. Titles are scanned cover to cover and date coverage ranges from late 1800's through to 2005.
- ARTstorARTstor includes over 60 image collections, including from the Museum of Modern Art, the Art Institute of Chicago, the American Institute of Indian Studies, the Cleveland Museum of Art, and the Detroit Institute of Art, as well as most of the former AMICO archive.
- NYPL Digital CollectionsNYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.
- Academic Search Complete [Image Collection]From the Academic Search Complete search page, click on the MORE tab at the top of the page & select IMAGES.
- Google ImagesTIP: Use advanced image search to search for photos in particular formats or sizes.
We Wear Culture (Google)
We Wear Culture, part of Google's Arts & Culture Platform, is a searchable archive of world fashion, created in collaboration with over 180 museums, school, fashion institutes and others organizations, In addition to being a huge database , We Wear Culture also includes over 450 exhibits and stories on various topics. Example topics are Boots, Silk, Cocktail Dress, Costume & Denim.
There is a section on Fashion Icons which includes exhibits on many designers.
There is a section on The Movements which focuses on various fashion trends and groups.
The Making Of (the craft and stories behind what you wear) includes exhibits such as the stories of the kimono and sari and various other traditional dress.
Fashion As Art is an "exploration of fashion as art, and art influenced by fashion."
Museums -- Costume Collections
- Kent State University MuseumSearch for images of costumes (18th, 19th & 20th centuries) displayed in the Kent State University Museum
- Digital Dress Collection (Wayne State University)Contains images of clothing worn in Michigan in the 18th,19th and 20th centuries. Includes images from various collections, including the Henry Ford Historic Costume Collection.