Accessing Tax & Accounting Library Databases
Use the following resources to access information about tax law and related topics.
Intelliconnect (CCH): Search CCH Tax Research Content
CCH Intelliconnect/AnswerConnect covers federal, state, and international tax law, financial and estate trusts and other topical areas.
To use CCH Intelliconnect/AnswerConnect, BGSU users must first create an account within the database. Click on the blue "Subscribers: Log in Here" button and then "Create a User ID." Make sure to use your BGSU email as your User ID.
Quick Steps for Getting Started Searching
- Perform a search and then filter the results to suit your needs.
- Use the Browse menu to drill down to your specific needs.
- Complete a citation search
- Revenue Ruling (Rev Rul 67-99)
- Revenue Proceeding (Rev Proc 86-48)
- Tax Court Memorandum (78 TCM 114)
Legal Material
Often references or footnotes in a book or other tax-related resource will cite either laws or court cases. You could find out more about a cited law or tax case in a variety of sources:
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThe database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. This is a great option for full text of some web published Atlantic Articles
- ProQuest CongressionalProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive database that searches across current and historical documents of the United States Congress, many of which are included in full text. It includes the U.S. Serial Set (the published working papers of Congress), Congressional Hearings, the Congressional Record (through 1997) and hundreds of thousands of House and Senate reports, State of the Union messages, Congressional journals, hearings, high-resolution maps, and more.
Foreign Tax Resources
- The World Bank's Business Ready series reviews various the business environment in various countries worldwide, including information about the degree of compliance with tax laws as an indicator of the ease of doing business in individual countries. However, it does not include information at sufficient details for accounting purposes.
