LibGuides: Streaming Video: Home

Streaming Video

This guide highlights the streaming video databases available to students, faculty, and staff at BGSU. Instructions for using and requesting films for our two most robust collections, Avalon and Kanopy, are included on the tabs.

Streaming Video Considerations

Film distribution is heavily restricted; posing unique challenges in providing broad streaming video access that meet the demands of our modern society. Our library staff work diligently to connect you with an appropriate solution, but there will always be some titles we will not be able to secure licensing for.
Consumer streaming platforms such as Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, and Peacock do not offer institutional licenses for academic libraries. Titles on these platforms are often heavily restricted, but not always. Please contact Brenda to determine if a title is available for your course: bzwayer@bgsu.edu. Some instructors will require subscriptions to these consumer streaming platforms in lieu of requiring expensive textbooks.

Educational Streaming Video Platform Library Subscriptions

ATLAS (Accomplished Teaching Learning and Schools)
ATLAS is a unique, searchable online library of authentic video cases showing National Board Certified Teachers at work in the classroom. The collection covers pre-K to 12th grade, and offers a number of search filters including grade and subject.
Ethics Unwrapped
A free educational resource created by the University of Texas McCombs School of Business designed to make learning about ethics easy, memorable and fun. Includes videos with discussion questions, teaching notes, video transcripts, and bibliographies as well as 86 case studies with discussion questions, related videos, and bibliographies. Available in both Spanish and English.
Kanopy
A streaming service for videos from major educational film producers and distributors. BGSU subscribes to select title licenses as requested for supplemental course material, in addition to a collection of over 10,000 titles through the Kanopy Base subscription. Check out this list of titles available here: https://libguides.bgsu.edu/streamingvideo/kanopy
OnTheBoards.tv
Full-length, high quality video of contemporary performance of theater, dance, and music.
PsycTherapy Videos
Hundreds of streaming video demonstrations of over 100 psychotherapy approaches, such as integrated behavioral health care, cognitive behavior therapy, and acceptance and commitment therapy, all with synchronized, searchable transcripts.
SAGE Counseling & Psychotherapy Videos
Over 480 streaming videos on topics including counseling research methods, counseling setting/client groups, theory and approaches, counseling skills, and professional issues.

Free Streaming Video Platforms

Internet Archive's TV News Archive
Internet Archive's TV News Archive provides free access to more than a million closed captioned clips from TV news shows dating back to 2009, with options to filter by network, show, or date range.

Library of Congress: Selections from the National Film Registry
A curated collection of digitized films and moving images by the Library of Congress that are deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant".
Plex
Plex is a free website that allows users to watch movies and TV shows from its collection with advertisements. Registration is required to gain access to this free service.
Pluto TV
Owned by Paramount and pulls from their archival content library.
Public Domain Movies Substack
A curated content list of films that are no longer protected under copyright restrictions and have enter the public domain.
The Roku Channel
A free, ad-supported streaming service.
Tubi TV
This ad-supported service is owned by Fox and has more than 250,000 movie titles and TV episodes.