Use This Guide For...
..finding Rhetoric and Writing resources in the library's collections. Since Rhetoric and Writing is interdisciplinary, many of the databases listed here are also. To access library resources off-campus, simply log in when prompted using your BGSU username and password. Open Access resources are freely available on the web and do not require an institutional login. To find databases not listed here, use the A-Z Databases list on the library's website. You can search by subject, title, or database name.
- Databases by TitleIf you know the particular database you are interested in searching, you can use this link to find the database listed alphabetically by title, or use the search box at the top of the page to search all databases for the title of the one you are looking for.
Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIndexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Index to core English-language journals, books, and yearbooks in education, many of which are full text.
- Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports is an evaluative tool used to determine the most frequently cited, highest impact, or largest journals in an academic field, covering 2004 to 2 years ago.
- JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Index to articles, books, and other publications about the nature and use of language. Topics include phonetics, phonology, syntax, and semantics.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
A listing of thousands of periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
- MLA International Bibliography
A detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Philosopher's Index
Indexing and abstracts for scholarly books and journals in philosophy and related fields. Topics include ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and logic.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection
A subset of Academic Search Premier providing citations and full text for journal articles on topics including world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Information about journals and magazines, including whether they are considered scholarly publications.
Journals Accessed through the Library
To search for a journal publication in the library's collection, use the Journals by Title search on the library's webpage.
- College Composition and CommunicationCollege Composition and Communication publishes research and scholarship in rhetoric and composition studies that supports college teachers in reflecting on and improving their practices in teaching writing and that reflects the most current scholarship and theory in the field.
- Journal of Contemporary RhetoricThe Journal of Contemporary Rhetoric (JCR) is a peer-reviewed publication that publishes original scholarship that promotes critical engagement with rhetorical dimensions of current events (those of the past 18 months or so). In promoting the practice of public intellectualism, JCR offers an outlet for scholarship that is both intellectually rigorous and accessible to lay audiences
- Relevant Rhetoric: A New Journal of Rhetoric Studies (2010 - present)Relevant Rhetoric is a refereed, online journal created to publish pieces of academic rhetorical criticism that are of value not only to academic scholars and historians interested in persuasion, but also to the educated lay-public. The journal seeks to further our understanding of and conversation about modern persuasive practices with the largest possible audience.
- College English (1962 - present)Examines various study and teaching methods for teachers of college-level English language arts.
- College English (1939 - 2015)Examines various study and teaching methods for teachers of college-level English language arts.
- Composition StudiesPublishes articles, course designs, and process-oriented pieces about composing practices associated with rhetoric and composition: teaching college writing; theorizing rhetoric and composing; administering writing related programs; preparing the field's future teacher-scholars.
Open Access Journals
- Composition ForumComposition Forum’s unique focus as a scholarly venue is in the intersection of writing theory and pedagogy. As editors, we believe that scholarly work addressing this intersection is vital, both in our understanding of writing as a subject and in the application of writing pedagogy across diverse contexts.
- Dialogues: An Interdisciplinary Journal of English Language Teaching & ResearchDialogues aims at fostering dialogue and collaboration between diverse and often separated groups—universities, community colleges, intensive English programs, adult education programs, TESOL graduate and certification programs, K-12 licensure programs, and others.
- Journal of Writing ResearchThe Journal of Writing Research (JoWR) is an international peer reviewed journal that publishes papers that describe scientific study studies of the processes by which writing is produced and or by which it can be effectively taught.
- Prompt: A Journal of Academic Writing AssignmentsPrompt is a biannual, refereed online journal that publishes academic writing assignments. We publish assignments directed at both undergraduate and graduate students from all academic disciplines.
- Rhetoric, Professional Communication, and GlobalizationThis Journal publishes articles on the theory, practice, and teaching of professional communication in critical global contexts. Articles can take a variety of forms, including formal empirical studies, illustrative case studies, book, software, and academic program review, and curriculum development.
- English TeacherEnglish Journal is NCTE’s award-winning journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. It presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language, and includes information on how teachers are applying practices, research, and multimodal literacies in their classrooms
Get Help from Your Librarian
Web Resources
- CompPileAn online, searchable inventory of published scholarship in post-secondary composition and rhetoric from 1939 - present.
- WPA-CompPile Research BibliographiesAn online inventory of composition-related bibliographies.
Books
Use these Library of Congress (LC) call numbers to search the library catalog or browse the stacks in Jerome Library.
P1-1091 Philology. Linguistics
P40-40.5 Sociolinguistics
P211-211.7 Written communication. History of writing and alphabet
P301-301.5 Style. Composition. Rhetoric. Usage
P302-302.87 Discourse analysis
PE1-3729 English philology and language
PE1065-1069 Study and teaching
PE1401.2-1497 Rhetoric. Style. Composition
PN4001-4500.2 Oratory
Signing up for RefWorks with a BGSU email address
If you want to sign up/migrate using your BGSU email address:
- Go to this RefWorks sign up page.
- Enter your BGSU email address
- You will be asked to enter a password to create a new account*
- An activation email will be sent - click on the link in the email
- You will be taken to your new RefWorks account and asked to fill out some basic information
*If you already have a RefWorks 3 account, you will be asked if you want to log in to your existing account