It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Profiles of artists, surveys of gallery exhibits and international art news. In print at Jerome Library.
A bimonthly magazine of contemporary art containing articles, interviews, conversations, and essays by some of the most important figures in international criticism, visual arts, and curating today. In print in Jerome Library.
Getting full text
While databases like JSTOR contain full text, many other databases only contain descriptions of articles. Here's how to get to full text when it's not in the database you're searching:
Click on the "Find it!" button
If there is full text in another database, you will be taken to the article in that database.
If there is not a link to full text, there will be a link to Request through Interlibrary Loan.
A good place to find information about lesser-known artists, view reproductions of work. Entries include bibliographies. Students can purchase full access for 24 hours for $13.50, but much of the site is available for free.
From the Smithsonian, includes digitized images, letters, and more as well as descriptions of primary source materials in the Archives, many of which have been microfilmed and can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Oxford Art Online includes the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Art Online, The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, providing access to thousands of articles spanning ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
Also good for articles
These databases may lead you to additional sources.
Newspapers contain profiles, exhibition reviews, obituaries, and more. Pay close attention to coverage dates for online newspapers! To find a specific newspaper by title, use the "Journals by Title" link under "Search & Find" on the library's home page.
An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. Formerly called LexisNexis Academic.