Music Research

Provides access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music, with thousands of scholarly articles charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe. Limit of 5 simultaneous users.

Indexing and abstracts for international scholarly writings on music, including articles, books, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, conference proceedings, and more.

 

 Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein

Indexing for international music periodicals, including scholarly journals, covering music history, theory and performance, ethnomusicology, education, popular music, and the music industry.

 Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein

Index to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses written from 1861 to the present for universities all over the world, with full text access to most.

Full text doctoral dissertations, masters' theses and undergraduate honors theses from Ohio colleges and universities going back to 2000, including Bowling Green State University.

Index to dissertations written in musicology since 1984.

A searchable digital library of electronically-published theses and dissertations dating back to 2005.

Audio for thousand of CDs from the genres of classical, jazz, world/folk, new age, pop and rock, and Chinese music. Access limited to 20 users at a time.

Sound recordings from independent record labels. Genres include classical, jazz, folk, world, contemporary and electronic music.

Avalon provides round-the-clock access to streaming audio and video content managed by the BGSU University Libraries. This content includes some course reserve materials, library-owned items, and locally created content from campus departments. Avalon's publicly available content can be accessed via the search box, or there are options to browse by date, format, collection and more. BGSU users will need to sign in to access content that is assigned to them or restricted to the campus community.

Streaming video of over 750 performances from the Metropolitan Opera of New York.

Qwest.tv is a database of streaming video of 20th and 21st century jazz, R&B and world music, created by Quincy Jones and Reza Ackbaraly, including documentaries, performances, and curated playlists.

Full-length, high quality video of contemporary performance of theater, dance, and music.

A streaming service for videos from major educational film producers and distributors. BGSU subscribes to select title licenses as requested for supplemental course material, in addition to a collection of over 10,000 titles through the Kanopy Base subscription.  Check out this list of titles available here: https://libguides.bgsu.edu/streamingvideo/kanopy