LibGuides: Literature Studies: Journals & Articles

Selected journals for literature & criticism

English Language Notes

PMLA

Modern Language Review

Covers special topics in literary and cultural studies, particularly interdisciplinary work. Full text of English Language Notes is available online. Also in print at Jerome Library.

A core title in literature, publishing scholarly essays on language and literature. Full text of PMLA is available online. Also in print at Jerome Library.

Scholarship on European and Latin American languages, literatures and cultures. Full text of Modern Language Review is available online in JSTOR (1905-present).

Nineteenth Century Literature

Review of Contemporary Fiction

Speculum

Publishes research concerning English and American 19th century authors. Full text of 19th Century Literature is available in JSTOR (to 2015). Full text for current issues of 19th Century Literature is available from the University of California Press online.

Critical essays on unconventional and overlooked writers of contemporary fiction. Full text for Review of Contemporary Fiction is available in EBSCO. Also in print at Jerome Library.

A journal of medieval studies publishing scholarly research on all aspects of the Middle Ages. Full text for Speculum is available online.

Selected journals for research in rhetoric & writing

College Composition & Communication

College English

Computers & Composition

A forum for critical work on the study and teaching of college-level composition and reading. Full text for CCC is available online. Also in print in Jerome Library.

Publishes scholarly work related to the teaching of college English, including literature, linguistics, literacy, critical theory, rhetoric and composition. Full text for College English is available online. Also in print in Jerome Library.

Articles discussing pedagogical, psychological and social aspects of the use of computers in writing classes, programs and research. Full text for Computers & Composition is available online.

JAC: A Journal of Composition Theory

Journal of Teaching Writing

Research in the Teaching of English

A forum for scholars interested in theoretical approaches to the interdisciplinary study of rhetoric, culture, and politics. Full text for JAC is available online to 2012. Current issues available in print.

Publishes articles on the theory, practice, and teaching of writing throughout the curriculum. Full text for the Journal of Teaching Writing is available online (to 2 years ago). Current issues available in print.

Publishes scholarly articles on literacy issues and research on the teaching of English worldwide. Full text of RTE is available online. Also in print.

Selected literary reviews publishing creative writing

Chicago Review

Granta

Iowa Review

Poetry, fiction, essays and some photography. Full text of the Chicago Review is available online. Also in print.

A literary journal publishing new writing in fiction, poetry, criticism and essays. In print at Jerome Library.

Publishes original fiction, poetry and essays. Full text of the Iowa Review is available online. Also in print.

Kenyon Review

Ploughshares

Poetry

Publishes fiction, nonfiction, drama, and poetry. Full text for the Kenyon Review is available online up to 4 years ago. Current issues are available in print.

A forum for new fiction, poetry and prose by established and up-and-coming writers. Full text for Ploughshares is available online up to 3 years ago. Current issues are available in print.

An important magazine publishing new work by established and emerging poets. Full text for Poetry is available online up to 4 years ago. Current issues are available in print.

The Dalhousie Review

One of the oldest and most prestigious literary journals in Atlantic Canada. Full text for the Dalhousie Review is available online for issues up to 1921. Current issues are available in print.

Literature databases for finding articles

MLA International Bibliography
A detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
Detailed information on the most studied authors and their works, including plot summaries, literary criticism, authors' biographies, articles from literary journals, and book reviews.

Other databases

Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection
An interdisciplinary collection of hundreds of high quality, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. All titles in the Standard Collection are full text.
Oxford English Dictionary
The online version of the 20-volume Oxford English Dictionary, the definitive record of the English language.

E-Journals

Browse by title

A · B · C · D · E · F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V · W · X · Y · Z · Numbers

Browse by subject

Peer Review

Want to know more about the differences between magazines and peer-reviewed journals? Consult this web page created by the BGSU Libraries:

Scholarly Journals, Popular Magazines, and Trade Publications
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Use this resource to help verify if a journal is scholarly, peer reviewed. Note: the most accurate way to do this is to go to the publisher web site. It is possible for an article to appear in a scholarly journal that has not been through a blind review.