Internet Sites with Primary Sources for U.S. History: 20th Century

Includes information about clients and employees (many of whom were Italian immigrants), in addition to information about designs, fabrics, etc.

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955. From Duke University Libraries.

Historical government documents from as early as 1916.

The magazine of the U.S Navy

The place of the Bible in U.S. society during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

40,000 hours of programs selected by more than 100 public broadcasting stations throughout the nation from 1940s to the 21st century

2,900 documents, compiled and transcribed by more than 300 writers from 24 states

Requires Flash

"collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960."

Full text searchable database of telegrams, correspondence, etc. about U.S. foreign policy.

Documents meant to be used for an investigation of crime in Chicago, primarily of prostitution and the illegal sale of alcohol

Archives of materials about Latina activists from the Civil Rights Era

Photos of social issues (tenements, poverty, etc.) in New York City 1880s-1950s

an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report).

Episodes from TV series moderated by Dean Krogh 1981-2005. Includes interviews with people such as Henry Kissinger, Zbigniew Brzezinski, Madeleine Albright, etc.

Letters are in various languages. Some of the records for letters include an English translation of the letter.

Includes treaties and related documents; and the annual reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs (1826-1932)

Hearings about Sen. Joseph McCarthy's activities on the Committee on Government Operations.

Correspondence between diplomats John Hay and Henry White

African American video oral history collection

"...Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII)."

Hauptmann was convicted of kidnapping the Lindbergh baby.

Interviews with Civil Rights workers in the South

"Official Organ of the Trade Union Educational League" and digitized by Martin H. Goodman of the Riazonov Library.

Called "arguably the greatest radical magazine ever produced in America" by Martin H. Goodman, of the Riazonov Library, which digitized the entire run of this magazine.

Documents and photos about the African American businesswoman, Madame C.J. Walker

Links to digitized magazines, cartoons, pamphlets, books, etc.

This site has the results of 3 digitization projects of this magazine, which they call "one of the two or three most famous US radical journals."

Resources on the lynchings of people of color since the Civil War

Photographs of working and living conditions of children 1908-1924

Ku Klux Klan in the 1920s

This magazine was "dedicated to a radical perspective on art and literature" and was digitized by Martin H. Goodman of the Riazonov Library.

Topics include discussions of the Watergate affair, conversations with advisers, mainly Henry Kissinger, visits to China, domestic and foreign policy, including the Vietnam war

Photos of New York City 1800-2000

A database of the photographs taken 1935 to 1945 by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).

The Library of Congress has made resource guides that highlight sources for the Presidential Elections, 1789-1920.

Refugees in WWII

Photographs of feminists and suffragists

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee

Photographs of African American in Pittsburgh, PA.

Papers of the Director of Public Safety for Birmingham, Alabama, known for using police dogs and fire hoses to disperse Civil Rights demonstrators in 1963.

Photographs of the counterculture in Georgia during the 1960s and 1970s

FBI documents that were released as a result of a Freedom of Information Act request.

Pre-TV, people saw the news in movie theaters. Newsreels were released twice a week and shown before every feature film.

Oral histories on the General Textile Strike of 1934, one of the largest strikes in U.S. history

"the Workers Party’s de facto theoretical journal until 1927" and digitized by Martin H. Goodman of the Riazonov Library.

Letters from a Western Pennsylvania soldier, plus other documents about his service.

Newspaper from Fort Dix

Letters from Australian soldiers in WWI

A newspaper published on the USS George Washington while sailing to Europe.

Surveys of WWI veterans - includes photos, news clippings, etc.

The Camp Upton (Long Island, NY) version of a newspaper published for soldiers by the National War Work Council of the YMCA

Daily records and comments as appeared in American and international newspapers

Searchable database of questionnaires filled out by WWI veterans.

Includes unit histories, After Action Reports, General Orders, etc.

Includes the full run of the Puka Puka Parade, a newsletter written by the veterans of the 100th Infantry Battalion.

Includes mission reports, photos, etc. Also includes substantial information about POWs.

POW camp in Louisiana

Information and primary sources about women who were steelworkers during WWII

Chaplain of the 442nd Regimental Combat Team, an all-Japanese American unit

Newspaper of the Chico Army Air Field, unit of the 21st Bomb Wing

Propaganda films made for the U.S. government

Commemorative booklets issued to soldiers at the end of World War II

Includes resources on the War Relocation Authority internment camps in World War II

An extensive collection of documents

Interviews with Holocaust survivors

Includes his columns from World War II

The newspaper of the Naval Air Station at Pearl Harbor. Includes issues from v.1 (June 2, 1943) - v.6 (June 11, 1948), but some issues are missing.

This camp held Italian men, Japanese resident aliens, German resident aliens, and Japanese Latin and South Americans during World War II.

Digitized documents from World War II and postwar.

Resources about German Americans and Latin Americans who were placed in internment camps by the US government during World War II

"A vast philanthropic initiative to digitise and make searchable almost 20 million records relating to the Holocaust and Nazi persecution was completed this week, with the resulting database made available to use for free."

Documents of the United Nations War Crime Commission.

Includes transcripts from the International Military Tribunal of the Far East (the Tokyo Trials)

A 15 volume set that includes summaries of trials from both Europe and Japan

Court decisions from war crimes trials after the end of World War II

Includes many oral interviews for World War II.

Includes stories from viewers about their experiences in World War II at: http://www.pbs.org/thewar/story_share.htm