Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Water Resources and Hydrology Guide. These resources will help you find general information, scholarly journal articles and government reports to support your literature and presentation on your hydrology topics.
Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Databases for Scholarly Articles
Index to articles in thousands of journals covering geology, geochemistry, hydrology, paleontology, and more.
Full-text geoscience journals that can be searched in conjunction with the GeoRef
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journal articles, monographs and conference papers on environmental topics including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, pollution & waste management, environmental law, and more.
GEOSCAN is the bibliographic database for scientific publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada.
Web of Science
Index to articles in scholarly journals and conference proceedings from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Links to full text are included where possible.
Video on Scholarly Articles