LibGuides: Finance: Data Sources

U.S. Economy Data Sources

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Economic data from U.S. Department of Commerce, including current stats & historical trends. Source of Gross Domestic Products (GPD) numbers.
Conference Board - Consumer Confidence
This global think tank produces the Consumer Confidence Index.
Congressional Budget Office
Source for data in table format including 10-year economic projections and historic data.
Economic Cycle Research Institute (ECRI)
Limited free access to news & analysis & the U.S. Weekly Leading Index (WLI) of economic activity & the monthly U.S. Future Inflation Gauge (FIG).
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Current and historic macroeconomic data and interest rates.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Includes official U.S. recession periods
NBER Working Papers
Full text research reports published by the National Bureau of Economic Research from 1973 to the present.
Prices and Wages by the Decade
This guide from University of Missouri Libraries points to consumer prices and wages reported in primary sources for each decade back to the 1700s.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Employment Statistics from the U.S. Department of Labor

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Access to IMF Macroeconomic and Financial Data
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations)
Current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world.
OECD Data (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
Global socioeconomic data includes the following areas: Development, Economy, Finance, Jobs, and more.

World Bank Data Catalog
Over 40 databases providing statistical data for over 550 development indicators and times series data for over 200 countries. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators.
Coverage: 1960 to present

IBISWorld
A database of industry information. IBISWorld employs a team of dedicated expert analysts to research economic, demographic and government data, providing insight into Americas 700+ industries. Additional modules cover China Industry, Global Industry, and U.S. Specialized Industry.

Big Charts
Investment charting and research from MarketWatch
Chicago Mercantile Exchange (CME)
Delayed (10 min,) quotes on commodities
q-Factor Model
Asset pricing factors by Hou, Xue, and Zhang
Fama-French Factors
Asset pricing factors by Kenneth French; Current research returns data library.
FINRA Market Data
FINRA public data hosted by Morningstar
New York Stock Exchange
Nasdaq Exchange

Bank for International Settlements
International banking statistics
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
Banking industry data.
Federal Reserve Board Data
Current and historical data, including interest rates, commercial bank, household finance, and exchange rates.

Statista
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
A vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, containing thousands of digital files of social science research data in political science, sociology, economics, criminal justice, and more.