Your Business Librarian
Getting Started
Research is essential to an entrepreneur. You need to understand your market, your potential customers, funding possibilities, and more.
This guide offers resources to get you started on your journey. Though some resources are freely available to all, most are available only to BGSU students, faculty and staff. Additional books/ebooks, databases, and websites can be found on the Marketing & Advertising and Company and Industry research guides.
For those unaffiliated or no longer affiliated with BGSU, many useful subscription databases can be accessed without charge through public libraries in larger metropolitan areas. Check out their websites to learn how to gain online access.
Top Business Databases for Entrepreneurs
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A database of industry information. IBISWorld employs a team of dedicated expert analysts to research economic, demographic and government data, providing insight into Americas 700+ industries. Additional modules cover China Industry, Global Industry, and U.S. Specialized Industry.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Information on all topics in business, including full-text, scholarly journal articles, company information, and industry reports.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein -
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products, lifestyles and industries. Reports combine data and analysis of the market environment and trends, market share, and consumer behavior and attitudes.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
Newspapers, Magazines and Journal Articles
-
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text news from hundreds of business news sources across the globe.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein -
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Information on all topics in business, including full-text, scholarly journal articles, company information, and industry reports.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein
-
Sign Up for a Free Wall Street Journal account!You can sign up for a free account for the Wall Street Journal online edition with your BGSU email. Click on the above link to learn how.
Business Plans and Models
-
Write Your Business PlanU.S. Small Business Association
-
SCORE: Business Planning and Financial Statements TemplatesDownload business plan templates from SCORE, a volunteer-led organization.
-
BplansFind sample business plans and templates and many additional "how to" business planning resources and articles.
-
Gale Business Plan BuilderAvailable through Toledo Public Library. You can apply for a digital library card to access this resource as long as you reside in the state of Ohio.
Data & Statistics
These statistical reports from the U.S. Census provide a wealth of information about businesses in the United States, from demographics to financial information to the impact of external events.
-
Economic CensusThe Economic Census is the official five-year measure of businesses in the United States providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels. It serves as the benchmark for current economic activity, such as the Gross Domestic Product and Producer Price Index.
-
County Business PatternsCounty Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for establishments with paid employees by industry and employment size. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
-
Annual Business Survey (ABS) ProgramThe Annual Business Survey (ABS) provides information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by sex, ethnicity, race, and veteran status. Further, the survey measures research and development (for microbusinesses), new business topics such as innovation and technology, as well as other business characteristics.
