Use Databases to Find Communication Research Articles
Out of the hundreds of library research databases, the one most often used for communication studies topics is Communication and Mass Media Complete. This database offers full text for nearly 200 journals and abstracts for over 300 more.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIndexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
- Click on Communication and Mass Media Complete in the box above
- Enter your search terms
- When your results come up in the database, click on "All filters" under the search bar, then select "Academic Journals" on the right side of the screen and click "Apply." This will eliminate SOME of the magazines/journals that are not appropriate for research assignments.
- Select an article that interests you; check the name of the journal the article is published in to make sure it is on the instructor's approved list.
- Note: Even if you limit to "Academic Journals" within the database, you still need to evaluate the article to make sure it meets the criteria for a scholarly article. You may stumble onto book reviews or editorials published within academic journals not considered appropriate for research.
- Journal Finder: Communication & Mass MediaYou can also ue this list of 350+ journals in communication and mass media to find journals to search in. You can also search journals by title or ISSN.
- SummonYou can use Summon to search through all of BGSU's resources, both online and in-print. To narrow your search, use the "refine your search" filters on the left side of the results screen. You can narrow your results by content type, discipline, date, and more. Try clicking on the "Journal Article" and Discipline: Journalism and Communications" filters.
Communication Journals
You can browse individual communication journals using these links. Each link will take you to our holdings list for the particular journal. It will indicate what years of coverage we have for the journal and provides links to access the journal. You can also search within the journal from this page. If you want to browse the journal, you can follow the links provided.
National Communication Association journals:
International Communication Association journals:
Association for Education in Journalism & Mass Communication journals:
Regional Communication journals:
Other Respected Communication Journals:
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Reference Sources
The Handbook of Media and Mass Communication Theory by ISBN: 1118591178Publication Date: 2014-03-31The Handbook of Media and Mass Communication Theory presents a comprehensive collection of original essays that focus on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication. Focuses on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication.
The Concise Encyclopedia of Communication by ISBN: 9781118789308Publication Date: 2015-05-04This concise volume presents key concepts and entries from the twelve-volume ICA International Encyclopedia of Communication (2008), condensing leading scholarship into a practical and valuable single volume.
