Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Human Rights
Resource Guide on International Human Rights (EISIL)
The concepts of humanitarian intervention, self-determination, and providing relief to the wounded and other victims of armed conflicts can be viewed as the roots of human rights law. Modern international human rights law dates from World War II and its aftermath. The United Nations Charter, signed June 26, 1945, sought to acknowledge the importance of human rights and established it as a matter of international concern.
This section of EISIL highlights important instruments and web resources for researching various topics within human rights as well as the different regional systems
provides access to the case-law of the European Court of Human Rights, the European Commission of Human Rights (decisions and reports) and the Committee of Ministers (resolutions).
UN Human Rights Monitoring
Indicates which committees are responsible for monitoring implementation of specific treaties.
Universal Periodic Review (Human Rights Council)
Country supplied reports of compliance along with UN and stakeholder reports and review outcomes. Also includes related webcast archives.
Additional Resources for Primary Research
International Legal Materials (1962-2016)
International Legal Materials (ILM) reproduces primary international legal documents reflecting the broad scope and evolution of international law. Each issue contains the full texts of important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organizations resolutions, and other documents.
IGO Google Search
The IGO Search searches across hundreds of Intergovernmental Organization websites.
Sources of U.S. Analysis of International Law
The U.S. Constitution requires the Senate to give its advice and consent to all treaties negotiated by the President. Full text of treaties with executive office analysis is linked via the GPO.
Digest of United States Practice in International Law
Provides the public with a historical record of the views and practice of the Government of the United States in public and private international law.
Foreign Policy Bulletin (2003-2012)
Excerpts and reprints major speeches, statements, public reports, and public remarks of U.S. officials, congressional debates, and some materials from international organizations.
UN Resolutions & Speeches
Includes full text of General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social Council Resolutions from 1946 onwards. Searchable by keyword, title, subject, document number, etc.
UN Official Document System
Full text of resolutions of principal organs including Trusteeship (1946 - )
Official Records and Meetings (late 1980s – present)
*Reports and resolutions of principle organs
*Some committee reports