Skip to main content

ARTS Printmaking (Ballweg): Art Journals & Databases

Art Journals at BGSU

African Arts
Aperture
Bomb
Flash Art
African Arts
Aperture
Bomb
Flash Art
Devoted to the study and discussion of traditional, contemporary, and popular African arts and expressive cultures. Full text of African Arts is available in JSTOR (to 2008) and current issues of African Arts are full text from MIT Press.
Devoted to photography as art. Contains illustrated profiles of photographers or thematic material. Full text of Aperture is available in JSTOR (to three years ago) and current issues of Aperture are full text in EBSCO. Also available in print.
Creates, disseminates, and preserves artist-generated content in all disciplines. Full text of Bomb is available in JSTOR (1981-2014). Current issues of Bomb are full text in EBSCO
An international magazine of contemporary art. Full text of Flash Art is online in EBSCO.
Art Bulletin
Art in America
Frieze
Art in Print
Art Bulletin
Art in America
Frieze
Includes critical and scholarly writing about artist's prints, both historical and contemporary, as well as print information, news, and events. Full text of Art in Print is available online.
Contains research articles on topics from all periods of art history. Full text of Art Bulletin is available in EBSCO.
Deals with art history, antiques, and auctioneering for universities, collectors, dealers, and museums. Full text of Art in America is available in EBSCO. Also in print at Jerome Library.
A leading magazine of contemporary art and culture that includes essays, reviews and columns by forward-thinking contemporary writers, artists and curators. In print in Jerome Library.
Art Journal
Artforum
ARTnews
Mousse
Art Journal
Artforum
ARTnews
Mousse
Provides a ideas and opinions that focuses on critical and aesthetic issues in the visual arts of our times. Full text of Art Journal is available in JSTOR (to 4 years ago) and current issues of Art Journal are full text in EBSCO.
Covers the contemporary art world, with sections on architecture, music, advertising and reviews of contemporary exhibitions worldwide. In print in Jerome Library. Some full text of Artforum is available online.
Profiles of artists, surveys of gallery exhibits and international art news. In print at Jerome Library.
A bimonthly magazine of contemporary art containing articles, interviews, conversations, and essays by some of the most important figures in international criticism, visual arts, and curating today. In print in Jerome Library.

Getting full text

While databases like JSTOR contain full text, many other databases only contain descriptions of articles. Here's how to get to full text when it's not in the database you're searching:

Click on the "Find it!" button

Database screenshot with the findit button highlighted

If there is full text in another database, you will be taken to the article in that database.

Full text in the database

If we have the journal in print, you will see the catalog record with its location.

Catalog with the print location

If there is not a link to full text, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan.

To place an interlibrary loan request, you must create an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account, which can be found under "Services" on the library's home page. ILL requests for articles and book chapters are often filled very quickly, because libraries usually scan the articles and deliver them to you online as a pdf.

Best bets for coverage of art journals

Search the full text of many journals at once for the most efficient way to find articles on a particular artist or subject. These are the best to start with.

Also good for articles

These databases may lead you to additional sources.

Finding newspaper articles

Newspapers contain profiles, exhibition reviews, obituaries, and more. Pay close attention to coverage dates for online newspapers! To find a specific newspaper by title, use the "Journals by Title" link under "Search & Find" on the library's home page.

Biographical sources