Using Summon
The best way to find information in Summon or any database, really, on particular characters is to put their name in quotation marks. For example:
"bugs bunny"
"bugs bunny" impact
"bugs bunny" influence
"bugs bunny" influence cultur*
- this searches uses an asterisk after the "r" in cultural to truncate the word in order to find alternate endings to it like - culture, cultures, cultural
Biographical Databases
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- Biography Reference BankBiographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, plus thousands of images.
- The Complete Marquis Who's Who Biographies
Full-text biographies from 20 Marquis Who's Who publications, including Who's Who in America, Who Was Who in America, and Who's Who in the World.
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online includes the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Art Online, The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, providing access to thousands of articles spanning ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Access limited to 3 users at a time. - Oxford Music Online
Provides access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music, with thousands of scholarly articles charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
Research Databases to find television and film articles
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Books and articles covering research in television and film.
- Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
- MLA International Bibliography
A detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Searching Summon for Biographical Information
Use Summon to find articles about a particular person! Just use quotes around their name and you should be good to go.
Remote Access: What's Needed
Authentication for off-campus (remote) access requires:
- Your BGSU username.
- Your BGSU password.
- Internet service and a web browser capable of accepting cookies.
- A valid BSGU record in the library's patron database. Students and classified staff may have to revalidate their records with the Circulation Desk each semester. Faculty and administrative staff may have to revalidate at the end of every spring semester. For more information, call the Circulation Desk at 419-372-2051 or email them at circdesk@libanswers.bgsu.edu.
Remote Access: Troubleshooting
When you have trouble connecting to the databases from off-campus, try one of the following options:
- If you get messages that indicate that your 'record is not valid' or that there is a 'problem with your record,' please call the Jerome Library Circulation Desk at 419-372-2051 or toll free at 1-866-LIB-BGSU.
- Use the Ask Us! link on the University Libraries homepage to connect with a librarian, using our instant messaging service.
- Send an email to askus@libanswers.bgsu.edu describing your problem in detail. Please indicate the name of the database you are trying to access, the browser you're using and its version, any error message that you receive, and your internet service provider.
- Call the Research & Information Desk at 419-372-6943 or toll free at 1-866-LIB-BGSU during desk hours.