Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Journal & Magazine Articles
This is just a sample of databases that might be useful for your research.
Academic Search Complete, 1887 - present
A multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects as well as magazines, books and book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
Anthropology Plus, Late 19th c. - present
Index to scholarly publications in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology.
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text, 1895 - present
Indexing for and full text of books and articles covering research in television and film, including theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and more.
FRANCIS (International Humanities and Social Sciences), 1984 - present
Citations and abstracts for scholarly publications covering all topics in the humanities and social sciences and published in French, German, Italian and other European languages
Gender Studies Database, 1972 - present
Gender Studies Database combines the databases Women's Studies International and Men's Studies with other literature on sexual diversity issues. It indexes journal articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, government reports, working papers, theses and dissertations. The database includes some links to full text.
Historical Abstracts, 1955 - present
An index to articles, books, dissertations, etc. on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered by the America: History & Life database).
Humanities International Complete, 1925 - present
A searchable database of the full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Covers all fields of the humanities, including history.
International Bibliography of Theater & Dance (with Full Text), 1983 - present
Comprehensive indexing of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations on theater, dance and performance from 1983 to the present. Some full text is also included.
International Political Science Abstracts, 1951 - present
Indexing and abstracts for over 1,000 leading political science journals published around the world.
JSTOR, 1603 - present
Full text articles from scholarly journals on many topics, including history. You can search groups of journals, by subject, or search individual titles. This is an archival collection, so you usually won't find journal from the most recent 3-5 years.
MLA International Bibliography, 1926 - present
A detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. All inclusions are scholarly works.
Music Index Online, 1973 - present
Indexing for international music periodicals, including scholarly journals, covering music history, theory and performance, ethnomusicology, education, popular music, and the music industry.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, 1967 - present
Indexing and abstracts for international scholarly writings on music, including articles, books, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, conference proceedings, and more.
SocINDEX (with Full Text), 1895 - present
Indexing, abstracts and full text for journal articles, books, book chapters and conference papers on topics in sociology, including abortion, criminal justice, ethnic studies, gender studies, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse and addictions, and violence.
Looking for More Databases?
If you're looking for more databases, we subscribe to approximately 250 databases. You'll find them all linked from the main Research Databases page!