Research Materials about Bowling Green, Ohio: Home

• Photograph Collections
• Research, Articles, and Printed Materials
• Manuscripts
• Post Cards
• Newspapers
• Local Government

and

• Maps and oversized printed materials

Agriculture

• MS-3          Union Grange #1475 (1898-1962 scattered)
• MS-215      Wood County Cooperative Extension Service (Four H etc.) (1922-1975)
• MS-502      Grace Wagner (BG cookbook) (overlap with MS-215) (1925-1956)
• MS-1159     Wood County Agricultural Agency (1940-1944) (Migrant workers)

Business

• MS-10             Wood County Monumental Works (1907-1954)
• MS-380           Buckeye Traction Ditcher (founded in BG in 1893) (1900-1988)
• MS-1025         Millikin, Uhlman, Nader Families
• MS-1031         Chidester-Baldwin Families
• MS-1045         William Insull (Tomato Festival photos) (utilities properties manager) (1922-1942)
• MMS-1699, 1700, 1701, 1702         Heinz Plant worker interviews (1979)

Churches

• MS-1213            Plain Congregational (1835-1973) (MS-71 MF) (MS-1213 unprocessed contains documents up to 2017)
• MS-199 MF*      Trinity United Methodist (1894-1993)
• MS-312 MF        First Presbyterian (1882-1974)
  • (see also MMS-831, POG 124, 1432, 2130, 3910, 4298, 5045)
• MS-420 MF        Saint Aloysius (1877-1998)
• MS-425 MF        Hope Lutheran (1910-1985)
• MS-331 MF        St. Thomas More University Parrish (1966-2002)

Education

• MS-81          BG Education Association (1954-1978)
• MS-96          Ivan “Doc” Lake (BG, BGSU)
• MS-102        Clayton C. Kohl (BG Town and Gown documents. Town and Gown Collection at Wood County Public Library) (1900-1938)
• MS-290         Faculty Dames/University Women (1930-1990)
• MS-350         Evelyn Steidtmann (Mrs. Bridge) (1944-1994)
• MS-453         Bob Byler (Journalism professor, documented downtown B.G. preservation efforts and Wood County History)
• MS-508         Faculty Women’s Club of BGSU (1931-1987)
• MS-541         Wood County Retired Teachers Association (1969-2003)
• MS-583         Harold Obee (BG theaters) (1906-1988)
• MS-636         Charles Barrell (BG City Council member 1967-1981)
• MS-642         BGSU Faculty and Student Folklore Collection (BG folktales and 1976 Black Swamp Festival)
• MS-660         Women’s League BGSU, Women’s Self-Government Association, Association of Women Students (1918-1970)
• MS-674         Clare Martin (BGSU science prof.) (1923-1953)
• MS-704         Mickey (Maxine) Campbell Welker (BGSU in the 1940’s)
• MS-708         Pearson Games (BGSU Trivia and BGopoly)
• MS-975         Lyle Fletcher Collection (BGSU geography professor, Wood Co. historian)
• MS-991         Frances Wolf Galloway (BGSU In the 1940’s)
• MS-1091       Margit Heskett (1920’s-2008, BGSU faculty)
• MS-1186       Ridge Street School Collection
• MS-1207       H. Hall Collection (BGSU chemistry professor – BGSU during WWII)
• MMS-329      May Lambert
• MMS-503      South Main Street School scrapbooks
• MMS-1020    O.G.S. – Wood County Chapter (Wood Co. Schoolhouse Project – 1988)
• MMS-1671    Dorothy Sarver scrapbook (1934-1937 BGSU)
• MMS-1681    Martha Alice Harvey Parquette (BGSU scrapbook) (1913-1915)
• MMS-1787    Frances M. Travis scrapbook (BGSU 1930-1932)
• MMS-1835    Marjorie Louise Hartman scrapbook (B.G. Centennial program and proposed closing of BGSC in 1933)
• MMS-2081    BG High School publications and ephemera
• UA-EMC       Educational Memorabilia Collection (Wood County Schools)

Family

• MS-185         Martha Rogers Waugh (rural BG family.  Includes information about the First Presbyterian Church)
• MS-493         A. Lowell Randall (war correspondence 1942-1945)
• MS-513         Rev. Edwin E. Rogers (Presbyterian Church)
• MS-689         Charles Sumner Van Tassel family (1804-1983) (early Wood County)
• MS-780         Mildred Taylor McKnight? (father mayor of BG)
• MS-781         Don Simmons
• MS-1025       Virginia Uhlman Nader Papers (Uhlman, Nader, Millikin,Baldwin family)
• MS-1202       Minniebelle Conley Collection
• MS-72           William Pratt Family (early Wood County)
• MS-128 MF   O.G.S. – Wood County Chapter – First Families
• MS-446 MF   William Henry Gorrill (1857-1950’s)
• MMS-1440    John K. Raney (BG and BGSU architect)
• MMS-1873    Helen E. Urschel Janzer (BGHS scrapbook and photos of Urshel Apartments under construction)
• MMS-2062    Cygnet, Max Shafer, and the Wood County oil boom

Politics

• MS-503          Fred Adams (first man to enroll at BGSU in 1914) (Lincoln Drugstore wreckage photos)
• MS-546          Delbert Latta (BG lawyer and U.S. Congressman)
• MS-692          Wood County Sheriff Pratt scrapbook 1930’s Prohibition news clippings
• MS-1149        Bruce Bellard Collection (Mayor of BG)
• MS-1228        Wood County Civil Defense
• MMS-434       Myrna Belle Reece Hanna (photocopies of newsclippings)
• MMS-1065     Wood County Sheriff Witte scrapbook 1930’s Prohibition news clippings
• MMS-2070     Wood County Auditor’s militia roll
• MMS-2108     Wood County war-time home front
• MMS-2087     Wood County political campaign memorabilia
• MS-1076 MF  Latty Collection contains some information for 1865 legal case regarding disputed election results pertaining to the Wood County seat relocation from Perrysburg to Bowling Green

Women's Resources

• MS-98             Esther Brisbin
• MS-139           BG Chapter of the League of Women Voters (1952-)
• MS-186           Woman’s Club of BG (1921-)
• MS-188           Myrtle Mitchell Manecke  (BG Centennial parade photos)
• MS-191           Soroptimist International – BG Chapter (1944-1980)
• MS-240           International Order of King’s Daughters and Sons (Silver Cross Circle)
• MS-244           Daughters of the American Revolution
• MS-249           Shakespeare Round Table (BG program year books 1911-
• MS-352           Katheryn Ziegler Jeska
• MS-365           Sorosis Club (1934-2000)
• MS-411           Business and Professional Women’s Club of BG
• MS-481           Delphian Society, Beta Chapter of BG (1923-1985)
• MS-498           Woman’s Relief Corps, Wiley Post #85 (BG chapter 1885-1974)
• MS-590           American Business Women’s Association
• MS-706           PEO Club
• MS-760           Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, Nu Chapter of BG (1939-1988)
• MS-761           First Ladies Investment Club
• MS-804           BG Country Club Golferettes
• MS-1034         Beta Sigma Phi (social sorority)
• MS-1065         Yvonne Slyker Cave (BGSU)
• MS-1157         Wood County Hospital Guild (see also MMS-424f)
• MS-1202         Minniebelle Conley
• MS-1209         Zonta Club of Bowling Green
• MMS-396       Women’s Christian Temperance Union (Wood Co.?)
• MMS-562,563 Eliza Jane Hampton diary and papers
• MMS-1671     Dorothy Sarver scrapbook (1934-1937 BGSU)
• MMS-1835     Marjorie L. Hartman scrapbook ( includes proposed closing of BGSC in 1933)
• MMS-2105     BG American Legion Auxiliary, Wood County Post #45, records 1923- 197
• MMS-1768f    Nellie Willard Lincoln scrapbooks of theater travels

Clubs and Organizations (See also Women's Resources)

• MS-25             Bowling Green Chamber of Commerce (1940-)
• MS-305           Black Swamp Players
• MS-410           American National Red Cross of Wood County
• MS-520           GAR Wiley Post 46 BG
• MS-671           Wood County Hospital Association (planning of Wood Co. Hospital)
• MS-672           Friends of Wood County Park District
• MS-934           BG Rotary Club (inventory only)
• MS-977           Junto Club of BG (similar to the Town and Gown Club) (1933-2000)
• MS-982           Black Swamp Arts Festival
• MS-1052         Kiwanis (inventory only)
• MS-140 MF    BG Country Club (1959-1979 minutes)
• MMS-2061     Bowling Green Masonic lodges
• MMS-2101     BG American Legion, Wood County Post #45, photos  

*MF = microfilm