LibGuides: BGSU 1910 Toledo's Great Migration: Newspapers

Toledo Newspapers

In addition to the newspapers listed below, the BGSU Center for Archival Collections has additional Toledo newspapers. All titles are listed here.

Blade, Nov. 18, 2005-present (ProQuest Newstand)
Search for articles or browse particular issues
Subscription database: Available only to students, faculty, and staff of BGSU or to those on campus.

Blade
Call Number: Main Microforms: Microfilm (in alphabetical order)
Publication Date: 1835-1850, 1852-present
No index
Daybreak Dispatch
Call Number: Archives - Microfilm Newspapers
Publication Date: Aug. 15, 1977-Mar. 3, 1978
No index

La Prensa, Aug. 30, 2006-present (Ethnic NewsWatch)
Search for articles or browse particular issues
Subscription database: Available only to students, faculty, and staff of BGSU or to those on campus.
La Prensa, Aug. 30, 2006-present (ProQuest Newstand)
Search for articles or browse specific issues
Subscription database: Available only to students, faculty, and staff of BGSU or to those on campus.

Sojourner's Truth
Call Number: Archives Microfilm
Publication Date: Feb. 8, 2002-Dec. 27, 2006
African American newspaper
No index

Toledo Blade Index
Call Number: Archives cac MMS 1410 mf
Publication Date: 1925-1939, 1941-1942
This index covers only 1925-1939 and 1941-1942 and is on microfilm
Toledo Bronze Raven
Call Number: Main Microforms: Microfilm (in alphabetical order)
Publication Date: Jan. 6, 1951-Jan. 10, 1976
African American newspaper
No index

Toledo Business Journal, Feb. 2016-present (ProQuest Newstand)
Search for articles or browse particular issues.
Subscription database: Available only to students, faculty, and staff of BGSU or to those on campus.

Toledo Journal
Call Number: Archives cac NEWSPAPERmf
Publication Date: Jan. 6, 1980-Dec. 29, 1993
African American publication
No index

Toledo News-Bee
Call Number: Archives cac NEWSPAPER
Publication Date: June 8, 1903-Aug. 2, 1938
Newspaper is on microfilm.
No index

Toledo Times
Call Number: Archives cac NEWSPAPERmf
Publication Date: 1990-1975
Newspaper is on microfilm
No index

The following databases are available only to students, faculty, and staff of BGSU or to those on campus.

NewspaperArchive.com
Searchable full text for hundreds of historical newspapers published in Ohio between 1800-2010. Search or browse 19th and 20th century Ohio newspapers and view full-page pdf images.
Coverage: 1800-2010
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
The full text of hundreds of U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states published by African Americans, dating from 1827 to 1998.
Coverage: 1827-1898
Cincinnati Enquirer (1872-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Cincinnati between 1872 and 1922.
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
Full text for several newspaper titles published in Detroit between 1831 and 1922.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A database that searches the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals published by the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States.
Newspaper Source
Full text for hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers, and complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
ProQuest Global Newsstream
An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.