LibGuides: MLS 2010: Orientation to the Professions of Medicine/Medical Technology: Articles

Start With These Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This database provides a detailed index and full text of scholarly articles in nursing and allied health literature, including biomedicine and consumer health, scholarly journals, evidence-based practice guidelines, and other publications. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and continuing education modules.
PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Mobile access
Web of Science
Index to articles in scholarly journals and conference proceedings from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Links to full text are included where possible.

Some Additional Useful Databases

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full text for hundreds of scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with a particular focus on nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Index to scholarly journal articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
SciFinder
SciFinder provides access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. It includes the Chemical Abstracts database, which contains references to millions of journal articles and related documents. Users can search by chemical substance or reaction, research topic, author, or specific CA or patent reference.
All users must register for an account using their official BGSU email address.
Any commercial use of SciFinder Scholar is prohibited by Chemical Abstracts Services. Thus, patentability research and research performed with the intention of delivering results outside BGSU are not allowed.

Find Full Text Articles

To find full text journals, see the Journal Title List page.

Is It a Scholarly Journal?

Journals and Magazines: This guide details the characteristics of each category.

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory: Entries include information about whether the journal or magazine is a scholarly journal, consumer magazine, etc.

Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences. This database of author instructions for more than 3,500 periodicals will frequently say if the periodical is peer-reviewed.

Paper journals: Frequently include instruction for authors in the front or back of the journal. Some instructions will use the phrase "peer reviewed." Others will say that manuscripts are sent for blind review, reviewed by a committee, or anonymously reviewed.

Research Databases: Some allow you to limit your search to scholarly journals. CINAHL allows you to limit your search to peer reviewed journals and indicates that an article is peer reviewed in the Journal Subset field when appropriate. MEDLINE has indexed only scholarly journals since 1975.

Popular vs. Scholarly

Created by Suffolk County Community College, sunysuffolk.edu .

Parts of a scholarly journal article

This video is from Bowman Library at Menlo College.

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

This video is published under a Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-SA US license. It is available at https://youtu.be/rOCQZ7QnoN0