How To Find Materials
- Search the finding aids
- Search the catalog
- Search the website
- Ask an Archivist!
- Include the collection title/number and box number(s) OR call number
- Limited to 3 items at a time
Recommended Materials
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES MATERIALS:
BOOKS:
pUA 1868 - One hundred years of women at BGSU : the Women's Studies Program at BGSU
The deans' bible : five Purdue women and their quest for equality
MANUSCRIPT MATERIALS:
MS 1 Thirteen Club
Records, 1893-2000
Defiance, Ohio
Minutes, financial records, program books and photographs documenting the activities of a women's club in Defiance, Ohio.
MS 82 Mary Francis Feasel Alderton (1851-1932)
Diaries, 1903-1919
Seneca County, Ohio
Diaries with daily entries of activities and purchases in Seneca County, Ohio. Entries also cover domestic situations, religious essays, and mental health problems.
MS 92 Evelyn Barber Metcalf Brewster (1889-1979)
Papers, 1827-1969
Findlay, Ohio
Diaries, correspondence, and scrapbook materials of a prominent Findlay, Ohio family. Father, Clarendon B. Metcalf, was a mayor of Findlay, Hancock County auditor, and a school superintendent. Collection includes genealogical material. Evelyn was the first woman County Auditor.
MS 97 Rea McCain (1882-1973)
Papers, 1916-1974
Bowling Green, Ohio
Correspondence, manuscripts, published writings and miscellaneous research materials of the first chair of the Department of English at BGSU.
MS 98 Esther Irene Brisbin (b.1899)
Papers, 1918-1924
Bowling Green, Ohio
Notebooks, sketchbooks, programs, receipts and photographs of a student attending Bowling Green State Normal College.
MS 139 League of Women Voters. Bowling Green Branch
Records, 1953-
Bowling Green, Ohio
Annual reports, financial records, correspondence, minutes, and printed material.
MS 151 Bertha M. Carter Papers
Papers, 1818-1943
Wood County, Ohio
Family papers of the Hood and Pargellis families of Wood County, Ohio.
MS 168 mf Alice Tapp Williams (1893-1918) Diaries
Diaries, 1914-1918
Toledo, Ohio
Diary of a young woman in Toledo, Ohio, describing her social life, marriage, and failing health due to tuberculosis.
MS 185 Lucille Toan Waugh Collection
Papers, 1879-1923
Bowling Green, Ohio
Correspondence, family ledger, and a genealogy of a Bowling Green family.
MS 186 Woman's Club of Bowling Green
Papers, 1921-2007
Bowling Green, Ohio
Includes the club's annual program booklets which list club members, officers, standing committees, departments, by-laws, and program topics for their monthly meetings. Two scrap books from the club's Garden Group are also included.
MS 188 Myrtle Mitchell Manecke
Papers, 1909-1981
Bowling Green, Ohio
Travel diaries, autobiography, a children's story, a scrapbook, and photographs of a Bowling Green woman
MS 190 Hill/Morgan Family Papers
Papers, 1831-1980
Family collection, including correspondence and papers of Guy Morgan, who served with Co. K, 21st O.V.I. as well as papers of the women of the family who were active in auxiliaries and women's organizations.
MS 192 Rose Emch Price Collection
Diaries, 1905-1919
Toledo, Ohio
Diaries of daily work and social activities, family information and travels of a Toledo woman.
MS 197 mf Mary Frances Goldmann Klein
Papers, 1942-1946
Scrapbooks, correspondence, official documents, brochures, clippings, and photographs pertaining to service in the Women's Army Corps during World War II of a Toledo woman
MS 200 Irma Hotchkiss Karmol (1923-1979)
Papers, 1974-1979
Correspondence, campaign files, legislation, speech material, and a television commercial video tape pertaining to service in the Ohio House of Representatives by a Perrysburg woman
MS 201 Olive A. Colton (1873-1972) Papers
Papers, 1878-1972
Toledo, Ohio
Correspondence, autobiographical essays, journals, and newsclippings of a Toledo woman
MS 210 mf West Family Papers
Papers, 1842-1898
Diaries of Aaron B. West and Mary C. Titus West, with some correspondence, ledgers, and miscellaneous papers of a Sylvania, Ohio family. Includes correspondence of related family of Emma West Comstock.
MS 211 Vadae G. Meekison (1884-1981) Papers
Papers, 1903-1965
Letters to Meekison in Napoleon, Ohio from Harriet Taylor Upton, pertaining to women's suffrage in Ohio; speeches, brochures, newspaper clippings, and a photograph. Some transcripts available.
MS 241 Annie Laurie Turnbull Panning (1902-1982)
Papers, 1905-1982
Scrapbook, photographs, correspondence, and a few personal items documenting the years in the Women's Army Corps of a Toledo, Ohio woman.
MS 244 Daughters of the American Revolution, Black Swamp Chapter (Bowling Green, Ohio)
Records, 1929-1983
Minutes, programs and yearbooks, as well as various awards regarding this DAR Chapter.
MS 249 Shakespeare Round Table (Bowling Green, Ohio)
Records, 1911-2003
Constitution, membership lists, subject files, history, program yearbooks, and printed material
MS 250 Defiance Business and Professional Women (Defiance, Ohio)
Records, 1931-1982
Minutes, bylaws, financial documents, scrapbooks, committee reports, newsletters, and clippings
MS 251 New Century Club (Perrysburg, Ohio)
Records, 1900-1981
Minutes, programs, correspondence, and newspaper clippings
MS 252 Ideal Club (Columbus Grove, Ohio)
Records, 1907-1982
Minutes, correspondence, programs, and a club history
MS 267 Joan Wills Brisbin
Papers, 1830-1973
Family papers profiling the life of Joan Brisbin Wills, and the nursing careers of her mother and two aunts at the Toledo Hospital School of Nursing
MS 272 Delta Kappa Gamma. Delta Rho Chapter
Records, 1973-2006
Perrysburg, Ohio
Minutes, membership records, handbook, constitution, presidents’ notebooks, monthly newsletters, social activity pamphlets, photographs, slides, and artifacts documenting the activities of a professional honorary society of female educators.
MS 274 Benton Ridge United Methodist Church (Benton Ridge, Ohio) Women's Missionary Society
Records, 1896-1958
Meeting minutes, correspondence, reports, and financial documents
MS 289 Mary Elizabeth Whitney Collection
Papers, 1911-1982
Memorial letters, memoir, photographs, and art prints of a teacher of dance at Bowling Green State University.
MS 290 Faculty Dames/University Women
Records, 1930-1990
Meeting minutes, correspondence, programs, and newsletters of this Bowling Green State University organization
MS 309 Dora Eunice Giffen (1897-1982) Papers
Papers, 1877-1981
Correspondence, diaries, subject files, photographs, scrapbook material, books, and artifacts of a missionary and schoolteacher in Egypt for the United Presbyterian Church
MS 324 Tri Sigma Club Papers (Upper Sandusky, Ohio)
Papers, 1938-1981
Scrapbooks, newsletters, programs, constitution, financial records, songbook, and some correspondence for this Upper Sandusky, Ohio, women's club.
MS 350 Evelyn Steidtmann (1901-2004)
Papers, 1944-1994
Correspondence, programs, membership rosters, instruction materials documenting the social life of a Bowling Green, Ohio woman, especially emphasizing her role in teaching contract bridge in the university and off-campus community. Her work with foreign students is also documented.
MS 352 Kathryn Ziegler Jeska
Papers, 1936-1940
Scrapbook, account ledger, and photographs of a young woman while she was a student at Bowling Green State University between 1936 and 1940
MS 359 Woman's Christian Temperance Union (Burgoon, Ohio)
Records, 1935-1960
Minutes, financial records, convention programs, pamphlets and flyers, handbooks and newspaper articles.
MS 365 Sorosis Club (Bowling Green, Ohio)
Records, 1934-1985
Minutes, membership and financial records, newsclippings, correspondence, and annual programs of a women's literary and study club
MS 368 Sandusky Fortnightly Club (Sandusky, Ohio)
Records, 1906-1978
Minutes, membership records, newsclippings, reports and programs of a women's literary and study club
MS 371 Jane R. Gust
Papers, 1945-1983
Correspondence, minutes, business diaries, subject files, newsclippings, printed material, photographs, and taped interviews of the business representative and president of the United Food and Allied Workers, Local 626, of Toledo, Ohio
MS 394 Charles C. Starr (1833-1889)
Papers, 1855-1909
Family collection documenting Charles and Elizabeth Starr of Toledo and Port Clinton, Ohio and their relatives in New York state. Much mention is made of Oberlin College before the Civil War.
MS 440 Modern Priscilla Club (Sandusky, Ohio)
Records, 1905-1972
Minutes, membership records, correspondence, obituaries, financial ledger, newsclippings, and yearbook of a women's club
MS 447 mf Just-A-Mere Club (Deshler, Ohio)
Records, 1951-1993
Club history, minutes, program books, and correspondence of a women's club.
MS 455 The Women Alive! Coalition
Records, 1985-1997
consist of minutes, membership rosters, correspondence, programs and activities, marketing and publicity materials, photographs, and two radio recordings.
MS 478 Ladies' Literary Club (Sylvania, Ohio)
Records, 1898-1985
Minutes, programs, financial records, clippings, and photographs of a women's literary club
MS 481 Delphian Society. Beta Chapter (Bowling Green, Ohio)
Records, 1923-1985
Minutes, programs, and newsclippings of a women's literary club.
MS 498 Woman's Relief Corps. Wiley Post no. 85 (Bowling Green, Ohio)
Records, 1885-1974
Minutes, by-laws, financial records, and publications of auxiliary of G.A.R. Wiley Post no. 46.
MS 502 Grace Wagner Collection (Bowling Green, Ohio)
Papers, 1925-1956
Publications and some manuscript material gathered by the Wood County, Ohio Home Demonstration Agent of the Agricultural Extension Service.
MS 508 Faculty Women's Club of BGSU (Bowling Green, Ohio)
Records, 1931-1987
Minutes, constitution and bylaws, membership records, correspondence, financial ledgers, and programs
MS 560 American Society of Women Accountants
Toledo Chapter Records, 1947-1984
Minutes, president's notebooks, financial records, membership records, committee files, clippings, bulletins, and photographs.
MS 579 Charlotte Clizbe Baker (1888-1976) Diaries
Diaries, 1909-1974
Diaries of a Lima woman, active as a teacher, in service organizations, and clubs, written from age 20 to 86.
MS 590 American Business Women's Association. Bowling Green, Ohio, "Potpourri Chapter"
Records, 1973-2001
Procedure manuals, chapter bylaws, membership documents, minutes, conference and committee material, scholarship information, financial reports, scrapbooks and newspaper clippings, newsletters, and photographs.
MS 605 Martha Butman (1825-1894) Collection
Correspondence, 1847-1937
Includes correspondence of a midwestern woman and her daughters telling about holidays, clothing, social events, women in law school (1880s), church events, and San Francisco architecture and transportation. Also includes a letter detailing attitudes toward Native American tribes, and some details about their customs, language, and religion. A privately published book provides transcriptions of the letters as well as genealogical information.
MS 660 Women's League/Women's Self-Government Association/Association of Women Students
Records, 1918-1970
Bowling Green, Ohio
Records of the Bowling Green State University organization which established rules of conduct, dress and hours for all women students, including minutes, constitution, correspondence, and activities of the group.
MS 662 Ruth Perry Chase (1883-1966)
Papers, 1900-1960
Wood County, Ohio
Family collection from Wood County, Ohio, including photographs and memoirs; collection centers around Ruth Perry Chase.
MS 704 Mickey (Maxine) Campbell Welker Collection
Papers, 1941-1982
Personal papers documenting high school and college life in Albion, Michigan and Bowling Green State University, and alumni activities of the Greater Toledo Chapter.
MS 713 Jesse and Florence Currier Collection
Papers, 1906-1977
Bowling Green, Ohio
Personal and professional papers documenting the careers of a husband and wife at Bowling Green State University. The collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, and photographs.
MS 719 mf Daughters of the American Revolution, Martha Pitkin Chapter
Papers, 1867-1997
Sandusky, Ohio
Minutes, financial records, correspondence, scrapbooks, yearbooks, clippings, and printed material collected by the Sandusky, Ohio Chapter.
MS 741 Gish Film Theater Collection
Papers, 1900-date
Bowling Green, Ohio
Correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, newsclippings and other documents regarding establishment and development of the Gish Film Theater and the lives and careers of actresses Dorothy and Lillian Gish, Jean Arthur, Eva Marie Saint and Maidie Norman.
MS 754 Harp Family Correspondence
Papers, 1899-1934
Sandusky, Ohio
Family correspondence of a traveling salesman and his wife in northern Ohio.
MS 758 Mamie & Bessie Nagel Collection
Papers, 1934-1970
Defiance County, Ohio
Diaries, scrapbooks, and legal papers of a pair of sisters who farmed in Defiance County.
MS 761 First Ladies Investment Club
Papers, 1961-2003
Bowling Green, Ohio
Proceedings, correspondence, financial records, printed material and audio-visual material documenting the activity of a women's investment club.
MS 769 Agnes "Tommes" Bergman Papers
Papers, 1951-1997
Genoa, Ohio
3.5 linear ft. of correspondence, subject files, photographs, minutes, programs, clippings, scrapbooks, and photographs from 1951 to 1997 related to the life and activities of a Genoa, Ohio local activist.
MS 780 McKnight Family
Papers, 1862-1955
Bowling Green, Ohio
Correspondence among members of a Bowling Green family over the course of several generations. Includes correspondence with a member of Co. E., 11th Ohio Volunteer Infantry, as well as correspondence with a patient (1929-30) at the Ohio State Sanatorium.
MS 786 Newton Family Papers
Papers, 1862-1944
Xenia, Ohio
Correspondence, poetry and literary materials, newsclippings, and photographs of three generations of a family prominent in the Xenia, Ohio area and in Tennessee during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes papers of Mary Leslie Newton and Frances Halley Newton, educators and writers.
MS 858 Hefner Family
Papers, 1945-1952
Lima, Ohio
Correspondence between various members of a Lima, Ohio area family during the period at the end of World War II and during the Korean War, primarily the letters from the mother, Zelma Hefner to her sons. Some transcripts available online.
MS 918 Merl B. Smith Collection
Papers, 1930s-1970s
Personal papers and teaching notes used by a Toledo physician as a medical educator, as well as notes, papers, and publications associated with his service with the U.S. Army Air Force as a flight surgeon.
MS 964 Carter Family Papers
Papers, 1796-1995
Personal collection centered on the families of Lena B. Rees and James L. Carter, their ancestors, and children. Contains extensive genealogical material, photographs, and some correspondence, including a few letters written by Rees family members in the 72nd O.V.I. during the Civil War and an extensive series by Robert A. Carter while in training for submarine service during World War II.
MS 991 Frances Wolf Galloway Papers
Papers, 1945-1950, 1970
Bowling Green, Ohio
Includes photographs, documents, news clippings, and memorabilia from each year of the enrollment of a BGSU student. The collection also includes a Wood County sesquicentennial celebration scrapbook (1970) and a photograph of the Pioneer class taken in 1999, as well as a small amount of other family material.
MS 997 Sarah V. Elder Dicken Papers
Correspondence, 1854-1898
Correspondence with family members serving in the 21st, 49th, and 64th O.V.I. and the 9th O.V.C., as well as a variety of other units.
MS 1082 Port Clinton Junior Women's Club
Papers, 1947-2000
Minutes, treasurer's books, programs/presentations, subject files, scrapbooks, published materials, reports, and awards of this Ottawa County women's organization.
MS 1091 Margit Heskett
Collection, 1920s-2008
Bowling Green, Ohio
Correspondence, subject files, photographs, and choreography notes, documenting the life and work of the professor of dance and ethnic studies at Bowling Green State University.
MS 1133 Grace Emch Smith (1879-1967) Diaries
Diaries. 1937-1960
Sugar Ridge, Middleton Township, Wood County, Ohio
Daily life of a Wood County farm wife, describing her routines, social life, and farm accounts.
MS 1175 "BGSU Women’s Basketball: A Legacy of Excellence" Collection
Papers, 2008-2010 (covers history 1962-2010)
Documents the production of the documentary of this title, as well as research files on the history of the BGSU Women’s Basketball program, including interview transcripts, unedited video interviews, and photographs. Hager’s and Weiss’ papers were donated individually but combined together in this collection.
MMS 168 Ellen Aultman
Diary, 1901-1902
Scotch Ridge, Ohio
Typescript and handwritten photocopy of the diary documenting a farm family in Scotch Ridge, Ohio.
MMS 322 Lizzie Marrott
Diary, 1891-1892
Hudson, Ohio
Diary of a 17-year old girl, with emphasis on school and social life in Hudson, Ohio.
MMS 329 May Lambert
Papers, 1913-1915
Bowling Green, Ohio
Scrapbook (on microfilm and online), lesson plans and papers, and observation book (from Lagrange School in Toledo), of a student in the early days of Bowling Green Normal College.
Librarian
Online Resources
BG News - The BG News has served as the voice of the students at Bowling Green State University since 1920. The student-published newspaper contains a wealth of information and news relating to contemporary trends, campus events and the impact and impressions of national events within the context of student life. Spanning the history of BGSU, this collection includes every cover and every page of every newspaper in chronological order from 1920 to present. Each newspaper in this digital collection may be downloaded as an Adobe PDF file, and may be searched individually by year and by date. Use the BG News Index to search all issues of the BG News.
Key Yearbook - For decades, the Key Yearbook has fondly captured the many faces and life stories of students and staff at Bowling Green State University. Several decades’ worth of Falcon Pride is evident in this comprehensive digital collection. Spanning the history of BGSU, this collection includes every cover and every page of every yearbook in chronological order from 1918-2006. Each yearbook may be downloaded as an Adobe PDF file, and may be searched individually by year and by date.
BGSU DIGITAL GALLERY EXHIBITS:
A Family Tradition: Dora Giffen, Missionary to Egypt
Missionaries in China: Through the Eyes of Grace McClurg Carson