Some Useful Databases
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Index to core English-language journals, books, and yearbooks in education, many of which are full text.
- Education Research CompleteIndex to and full text of articles about all fields of education and all educational specialties.
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)ERIC indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. It includes citations to research reports, journal articles, and books, many of which link to full text.
- PsycINFO 1887-Current
The premier index to journal articles and other scholarly publications in the field of psychology.
- Web of Science
Index to articles in scholarly journals and conference proceedings from all fields of study, plus the ability to search these articles' bibliographies by cited author or work. Links to full text are included where possible.
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Journals
The International Society of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (ISSOTL) has a list of relevant journals on its Web site. Access the International Society of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (ISSOTL)
The BGSU Libraries provide full text access to almost all of these journals. Click on the link below to access the full text of the journal.
Summon
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
Finding the Full Text of Articles When FindIt! Doesn't Find the Article
If the FindIt! link didn't find the full text of your article, follow these steps:
- Search for the name of the journal in the BGSU Libraries Catalog or the Journal Title List page. We may have more than one source of the online full text of that article. If you find the page for the journal, you can see if the issue with your article is available on this page.
- Search Google Scholar or Google to see if there's a free copy on the Internet.
- Request the article using our interlibrary loan service, Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Articles take approximately 2 weeks to arrive, For more information, contact ill@bgsu.edu or call Interlibrary Loan at 419-372-8726.
Is It a Scholarly Journal?
Journals and Magazines: This guide details the characteristics of each category.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory: Entries include information about whether the journal or magazine is a scholarly journal, consumer magazine, etc.
Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences. This database of author instructions for more than 3,500 periodicals will frequently say if the periodical is peer-reviewed.
Paper journals: Frequently include instructions for authors in the front or back of the journal. Some instructions will use the phrase "peer reviewed." Others will say that manuscripts are sent for blind review, reviewed by a committee, or anonymously reviewed.
Research Databases: Some allow you to limit your search to scholarly journals peer-reviewed journals.