LibGuides: ENVS 3010: Environmental Problems: ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

Statistics & Facts

World Environment Situation Room (UN)
The World Environment Situation Room implements the Big Data Initiative. The project is global with overarching environmental policy relevance and impact.

Statista
Statista is an online statistics portal providing access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
PolicyMap (public version)
PolicyMap is an online US national data and mapping tool and analytics platform for demographic and socioeconomic analysis. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites. BGSU has access to the limited, free version of the software.
Coverage: 2000 to current
Sage Data Foundations
Sage Data Foundations is a dynamic tool which enables users to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets from the United States. Results can be compared and contrasted, and viewed in customizable tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to modern and historical socioeconomic and demographic data, bringing together quantitative data with a visual interface to make demographic research, the analysis of social trends, and comparison of neighborhoods, communities, counties, and other areas accessible and interactive.

The Federal Register
The Federal Register (the daily journal of the Federal government) is published every business day by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)'s Office of the Federal Register (OFR).
The Federal Register contains:
Federal agency regulations
Proposed Rules and Notices of interest to the public
Executive orders
Proclamations
Other Presidential documents
govinfo
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
United Nations Environment Programme Document Repository
The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) is the leading global environmental authority that sets the global environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system, and serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment.

ProQuest Global Newsstream
An online newspaper resource that includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
The database formerly named LexisNexis Academic is now called Nexis Uni! Contains full-text newspapers, business information, and legal publications, including current news, company profiles, industry information, and federal and state laws and legislation. This is a great option for full text of some web published Atlantic Articles
1980s to present