Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This LibGuide No Longer Being Updated
As of June 1, 2019 this LibGuide is no longer being updated because the librarian who created it retired.
Important Information about Dates of Coverage
If dates of coverage are included in an entry for a newspaper, the source may or may not include all issues within the listed time period. Also, the dates of coverage were correct when they were added to the entry, but may have changed since they were recorded.
Identify a U.S. Newspaper from a Place and Time
The Library of Congress's web site, Chronicling America has a search engine that will identify what newspapers were available in a particular place and time for U.S. newspapers. Click on this link to search the Newspaper Directory.
Internet Sites with Links to Online Historical Newspapers
Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet - Newspapers
Links to various web sites that include digitized newspapers. Some of these sites require a subscription.
A search engine that searches a number of newspaper repositories at once.
Google News Archive Search,
A Google search of archival news sources. Includes magazines, newspapers, and other resources. A list of available newspapers is at: http://news.google.com/newspapers
Historical Jewish Press 1783-2014
Collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods.
List of Online Newspaper Archives (Wikipedia)
Links to Internet sites with historical newspapers, organized by country.
Newspaper Archives/Indexes/Morgues (Library of Congress)
Links to sites with digitized historical newspapers. Some of these sites require a subscription. Emphasis is on newspapers from the U.S., but includes some from other countries.
Price Library of Judaica Anniversary Collection 1904-1973
Selected issues of Jewish newspapers published from many countries.
Russian and East European Historical Newspapers (Duke University)
Some of the newspapers at this site are only available to faculty, staff, and students of Duke University.
Wartime Press: World War II Archives
Copies of newspapers, magazines, etc. aimed at members of the armed service members from the countries involved in World War II.