Try these!
Try these keyword searches in just about any database!
- women's studies
- women and law
- reproductive rights
- women's health
- gender construction
- women and gender
- women and stereotypes
- sex roles
- body image
- violence and women
- poverty and women
- media and women
- advertising and women
Select Journals
BGSU has access to all of these journals. Some are available electronically, while others are available in paper only. Some are available in both formats. Where both formats are available, clicking the title will take you to the electronic format, and a separate link is provided for print.
Search Summon
Power search library resources (books and articles) and more!
Specialized Databases
These are databases focused on women's studies resources. If these aren't sufficient, try a database in the box below or the list of all databases.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexIndex to journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages - from approximately 450 to 1500 (with Russia extending to 1613).
- Gender StatisticsA compilation of data on key gender topics for countries around the world.
- Gender Studies DatabaseCombines NISC’s popular Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
- GenderWatchFull-text access to over 150 periodicals and other types of publications like conference proceedings, books, special reports, etc. This database covers a wide variety of subjects such as business, political science, gender and women's studies, public policy, literature and the arts, and culture.
- Humanities International CompleteFull text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Covers all fields of the humanities from 1925 to the present.
- LGBTQ+ SourceIndexing, abstracts and full text for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles dealing with a wide range of LGBT topics and issues.
- Vogue Archive"A complete, searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Includes every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by designer and brand names."
- Women's Studies InternationalCovers feminist research in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
General Databases
Need more sources? The following general databases cover subject areas in which you're likely to find Women's Studies information.
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, of which 4,400 are peer-reviewed journals.
- America: History and LifeAmerica: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals.
- Education Full TextEducation Full Text indexes core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in education. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues, including government funding, instructional media, multicultural and religious education.
- Electronic Journal CenterElectronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) includes the full text of more than 4300 online research journals covering many subject areas. Many OhioLINK-managed electronic indexes link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
- ERICERIC indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the worlds largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States. The database provides articles from 200 publications in English and Spanish.
- JSTORAn archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.
- Project MuseProvides online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage: (1993 to present)
- PsycINFOPsycINFO 1967- contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine and psychiatry.
- Social Science Citation Index 1980 - presentSI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. This includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded.
- Social Work AbstractsSocial Work Abstracts contains more than 45,000 records, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- SocINDEX (Full Text)SocINDEX with Full Text provides coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Click here for more information on scholarly, popular and trade publications.