Search in Summon
To find articles in Summon, do a search, then use the boxes on the left to limit to scholarly publications, journals, and the language English. Click on a result to link to full text for those that have it. For those that say "citation online," click and then use the Find It! button in the database to link to full text.
Best bets for scholarly articles
If you are looking for articles, you should use our databases in addition to Summon - you will find more articles this way.
For Bronze Age Aegean Art, try the three listed below first.
To see all our Art & Art History databases, choose "All Databases" from the library's home page, then choose "Art, Architecture & Design" from the subject drop-down menu.
- JSTOR1603-three years ago. A wonderful source for full-text scholarly articles in history and art history. Includes 19th century art journals and museum publications. Full text.
- Art Full Text1929-present. Great for research in art history and theory as well as contemporary artists. Includes articles from international art journals, magazines, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Some full text.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsArticles published from 1741-present. Covers architecture, design, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. No full text.
Help with databases
See our Tutorials guide for links to videos that help you use ARTstor, JSTOR, and many of our other databases.
Getting full text
While databases like JSTOR are all full text, many other databases, like Art Full Text, may only have descriptions of the articles and not the full text itself. Here's how to get to full text when it's not in the database you're searching:
Click on the "Find it!" button
If there is full text in another database, you will either be taken directly to the article.
If there is not a link to full text, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request a copy from another library.
To place an interlibrary loan request, you must create an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account, which you can do by clicking on "Interlibrary Loan" on the library's home page. ILL requests for articles are often filled much quicker than those for books because libraries usually scan the articles, and they are delivered to you online as a pdf.