LibGuides: Diaries, Autobiographies, Letters, etc.: Microforms

Indexes and Bibliographies on Microform

An annotated bibliography of biographies and autobiographies of Negroes, 1839-196l by Juanita Boykin Fuller
Call Number: Main Microforms fiche 016.92F966a
Publication Date: 1962

Microform Collections That Include Diaries, Memoirs, etc.

American women's diaries (New England)
Call Number: Main Microforms film HQ1412.A44 No. 1-21
Publication Date: 1983?
A microreproduction of diaries written by women in New England during the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. The women (and the years of their diaries) are Susan E.P.B. Forbes (1841-1908); Ruth Henshaw Bascom (1789-1846); Caroline Barrett White (1849-1915); Abigail Gardner Drew (1799-1817); Hannah Davis Gale (1837-1838); Luisa Adams Park (1800-1801); Sally Ripley (1799-1801 and 1805-1809); and Martha "Patty" Rogers (1785).

Draper Manuscript Collection
Call number: Main Microforms film F586.D7D7
Publication Date: 1980?
Works and papers collected by Lyman Draper on the history of the trans-Allegheny West. This area includes portions of the Carolinas, Virginia, Georgia, Alabama, the entire Ohio River Valley and the Mississippi Valley. Most materials cover the time period from the 1740's through the 1810's. There are nearly 500 volumes in this collection.

Materials represented in this collection include letters, legal documents, maps, journals and diaries, family and personal records, business records, land records, court martial lists, muster rolls, order books, interviews, transcribed newspaper and periodical articles, etc.

Oral Histories of the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969
Call Number: Main Microforms fiche E 847 .O73 pt.2
Publication Date: 1988
Transcripts of interviews with members of Congress, Supreme Court Justices, labor leaders, civil rights leaders, political figures, foreign dignitaries, and family friends.Note: The BGSU Libraries own only part 2: The Congress, the Judiciary, Public Figures and Private Individuals.
Oral History Collection (U.S. Senate)
Call Number: Main Microforms fiche JK 1161 .O7 No. 1-No.58
Transcripts of oral interviews with former Senators and people who formerly worked for the Senate or for a Senator. These interviews have been collected since 1976. This collection includes only those interviews that were available at the time the collection was purchased. Additional interviews have been added since that time.
Papers of Lewis Tappan
Call Number: Main Microforms film E 449 .T18 A3x
Publication Date: 1975
Reproductions of papers of Lewis Tappan (1788-1873), who was a merchant and abolitionist. The papers include correspondence, letterbooks, journals, notebooks, clippings, photocopies, notes, etc. The bulk of the papers are devoted to his work to abolish slavery. Some of the people with whom he corresponded were John Quincy Adams, Frederick Douglass, and William Lloyd Garrison.
Saionji-Harada Memoirs, 1930-1940
Call Number: Main Microforms film DS 884 .S3 H313 1978
Publication Date: 1946-1947
A reproduction of the journal of Prince Kinmochi Saionji (1849-1940), the last of the leaders of the Meiji restoration to have political influence in 20th-century Japan. The memoirs were written by his secretary, Prince Kumao Harada, the liaison between Emperor Hirohito and Prince Saionji. Prince Saionji was Prime Minister from 1906-1908 and 1911-1912. His journals total more than 3,000 pages and are important to the understanding of Japan in the 1930's.
Slave Narratives, a Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves
Call Number: Main Microforms Microfiche 326.973 F29s
Publication Date: 1941
ypewritten transcripts of oral interviews conducted with former slaves by the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938. The former slaves were interviewed about their families and childhood, their work as slaves, clothing and food, education, impressions of their masters, leisure and recreation, illnesses and medical care, and their impressions of Abraham Lincoln and Jefferson Davis. They were also asked what they remembered of emancipation, the Civil War, and the Ku Klux Klan.
Source Materials in the Field of Theatre
Call Number: Northwest Ohio Book Depository
Publication Date: 1956
Reproductions of rare primary and secondary sources on the theater. Publications include books, journals, manuscripts, and diaries written on history, acting, theater architecture, memoirs, biographies, stagecraft, costumes, ballet, music, and opera.
Voices from Ellis Island: An Oral History of American Immigration
Call Number: Main Microforms fiche JV 6460 .V65
Publication Date: 1985
Transcripts of interviews with people who immigrated to the United States and came through Ellis Island or with people who worked at Ellis Island. Most of the immigrants arrived in the early 20th century.