Research Guides: MUCT 1250: Music of World Cultures: Find Articles, Books and eBooks

The databases and search tips below are a starting point for your research. You can find a complete list of databases on the Library's website

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete

A multidisciplinary, full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects, as well as magazines, books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.

Coverage: 1887 to present; most full text is 1975 to present.
Users they may not use the Databases and Services in combination with an artificial intelligence tool (including to train an algorithm, test, process, analyze, generate output and/or develop any form of artificial intelligence tool). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, Licensee and Authorized Users may use, transmit, view, or store the content or outputs from the Database, Services, or e-content in any software tools and/or systems that may have artificial intelligence tools running therein.

Search in the Music Library

JSTOR

JSTOR

Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s. JSTOR now also hosts the complete ArtSTOR collection.

HipHop Archive

Search Tips for Specific Formats

When searching for a specific score, recording, book or DVD, an essential step any music library user must take is to designate the Material Type in the Library Catalog's Advanced Search menu:

Using this feature allows you narrow your search to ONE TYPE of item so you can browse through broad searches more easily, or improve the accuracy of refined search results.